November 30, 2009
Four Hokies named first-team All-ACC
Nine players total honored

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Virginia Tech placed four players on the All-ACC first-team, as released by ACSMA/AP, the media association for the Atlantic Coast Conference, Monday afternoon. Freshman Ryan Williams was the lone representative on offense while linebacker Cody Grimm was the lone representative on defense. Two specialists - punter Brent Bowden and kicker Matt Waldron - were also named to the first team.

Williams, a redshirt freshman from Manassas, Va., leads the league in rushing yards and touchdowns. He has rushed for 1,538 yards and has scored 20 touchdowns. Grimm, a redshirt senior from Fairfax, Va., leads the Hokies with 99 tackles and an ACC-record seven forced fumbles. Bowden, a redshirt senior from Centreville, Va., leads the lead and is 13th nationally with an average of 43.9 yards per kick. Waldron joins Grimm as former walk-ons to make the first team this year. The senior from Oakfield, N.Y., leads the conference in kick scoring and is a perfect 44-for-44 on PATs and 17-for-20 on field goals.

Making the second team were senior tight end Greg Boone, senior offensive tackle Ed Wang, senior offensive guard Sergio Render, junior defensive end Jason Worilds and senior free safety Kam Chancellor.

The nine players on the first and second teams were the most of any of the 12 programs in the conference. Tech also had nine players on the 2005 team, tying the most it’s had on the All-ACC team. The nine players on this year’s all-conference team mark the most for the Hokies since placing 12 on the All-Big East Team in 2000.

Williams becomes the first Tech freshman to make the All-ACC first team since joining the league in 2004 and the first freshman Tech player to be named first-team all-conference since Michael Vick was named first-team All-Big East in 1999. For Render and Worilds, it’s their second All-ACC honor as both made the second team last year as well. For the other seven players, it marks their first appearance on the all-conference squad.

Center Beau Warren, offensive tackle Blake DeChristopher and cornerback Rashad Carmichael were named to the honorable mention squad.

2009 ACSMA/AP All-ACC Football Team
(Total Points) -- Maximum 80 Points / 40 Voters
OFFENSE First Team Second Team
Quarterback Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech (50) Thaddeus Lewis, Duke (18)
Running Back Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech (67)
Ryan Williams, Virginia Tech (63)
C.J. Spiller, Clemson (62)
Montel Harris, Boston College (39)
Wide Receiver Demaryius Thomas, Georgia Tech (63)
Donovan Varner, Duke (50)
Torrey Smith, Maryland (25)
Jacoby Ford, Clemson (24)
Tight End George Bryan, NC State (39)
Michael Palmer, Clemson (39)
Greg Boone, Virginia Tech (16)
Tackle Jason Fox, Miami (57)
Anthony Castonzo, Boston College (53)
Ed Wang, Virginia Tech (31)
Chris Hairston, Clemson (26)
Guard Rodney Hudson, Florida State (54)
Cord Howard, Georgia Tech (47)
Thomas Austin, Clemson (39)
Sergio Render, Virginia Tech (37)
Center Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (45) Matt Tennant, Boston College (29)
Honorable Mention (10 points or more)
QB - Christian Ponder, Florida State (16); Russell Wilson, NC State (13); Riley Skinner, Wake Forest (13)
WR - Marshall Williams, Wake Forest (16); Rich Gunnell, Boston College (15)
TE - Zack Pianalto, North Carolina (11)
OT - Andrew Datko, Florida State (18); Kyle Jolly, North Carolina (14); Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech (14); Chris DeGeare, Wake Forest (12)
OG - Thomas Claiborne, Boston College (16); Jeff Griffin, Wake Forest (12); Orlando Franklin, Miami (11)
C - Beau Warren, Virginia Tech (11)
DEFENSE First Team Second Team
Defensive End Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech (76)
Robert Quinn, North Carolina (69)
Ricky Sapp, Clemson (29)
Willie Young, NC State (24)
Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech (24)
Defensive Tackle Nate Collins, Virginia (47)
Allen Bailey, Miami (38)
Marvin Austin, North Carolina (32)
John Russell, Wake Forest (29)
Linebacker Cody Grimm, Virginia Tech (65)
Luke Kuechly, Boston College (53)
Quan Sturdivant, North Carolina (44)
Alex Wujciak, Maryland (44)
Vincent Rey, Duke (29)
Darryl Sharpton, Miami (21)
Bruce Carter, North Carolina (17)
Colin McCarthy, Miami (17)
Dekoda Watson, Florida State (17)
Cornerback Kendric Burney, North Carolina (59)
Brandon Harris, Miami (41)
Ras-I Dowling, Virginia (26)
Patrick Robinson, Florida State (26)
Safety DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson (57)
Deunta Williams, North Carolina (53)
Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech (51)
Kam Chancellor, Virginia Tech (24)
Honorable Mention (10 points or more)
DT - Vince Oghobaase, Duke (26); Jarvis Jenkins, Clemson (26); Joe Joseph, Miami (13)
LB - Brad Jefferson, Georgia Tech (16); Steve Greer, Virginia (16); Brandon Maye, Clemson (10)
CB - Rashad Carmichael, Virginia Tech (22); Leon Wright, Duke (19); Chris Chancellor, Clemson (15); Crezdon Butler, Clemson (12); Kenny Okoro, Wake Forest (10)
S - Rashard Hall, Clemson (13); Randy Phillips, Miami (10)
SPECIAL TEAMS First Team Second Team
Placekicker Matt Waldron, Virginia Tech (27)
Matt Bosher, Miami (27)
Casey Barth, North Carolina (21)
Will Snyderwine, Duke (21)
Punter Brent Bowden, Virginia Tech (57) Matt Bosher, Miami (37)
Specialist C.J. Spiller, Clemson (76) Torrey Smith, Maryland (17)
Honorable Mention (10 points or more)
P - Ryan Quigley, Boston College (18)
PK - Robert Randolph, Virginia (14)
SP - Greg Reid, Florida State (15)

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop