December 8, 2009
    Grimm wins Dudley Award
    Senior linebacker becomes ninth different Hokie to win state's top honor

    RICHMOND, Va. – For the first time since 2006 and the ninth time overall, a Virginia Tech football player has taken home the Dudley Award, given to the state's top Division I collegiate football player. Tech senior linebacker Cody Grimm was presented the award Tuesday night in Richmond. The award is voted on by state media.

    Grimm, a former walk-on from Fairfax, had 99 total tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks while anchoring the Hokies' defense. He earned first-team All-ACC honors last week.

    Grimm edged Richmond quarterback Eric Ward for the award. Ward earned more first-place votes than Grimm (4-3), but Grimm was named on every ballot while Ward was not. Grimm finished with 35 points. Ward had 29 and James Madison defensive end Arthur Moats was third with 19.

    Dudley Award Winners
    Year Player School Position
    1990 Shawn Moore * Virginia Quarterback
    1991 Matt Blundin Virginia Quarterback
    1992 Cary Perkins Emory and Henry Quarterback
    1993 Jim Pyne Virginia Tech Offensive lineman
    1994 Mike Frederick Virginia Defensive end
    1995 Cornell Brown Virginia Tech Defensive end
    1996 Tiki Barber Virginia Tailback
    1997 Anthony Poindexter Virginia Safety
    1998 Marc Megna Richmond Defensive tackle
    1999 Corey Moore Virginia Tech Defensive end
    2000 Lee Suggs * Virginia Tech Tailback
    2001 Billy McMullen Virginia Wide receiver
    2002 Lee Suggs Virginia Tech Tailback
    2003 Kevin Jones Virginia Tech Tailback
    2004 Bryan Randall Virginia Tech Quarterback
    2005 Darryl Tapp Virginia Tech Defensive end
    2006 Vince Hall Virginia Tech Linebacker
    2007 Chris Long * Virginia Defensive end
    2008 Rodney Landers James Madison Quarterback
    2009 Cody Grimm Virginia Tech Linebacker
    * - Unanimous selection

    The last Hokie to win the award was linebacker Vince Hall, who capped off a run of five-straight Tech players to win the award (Lee Suggs, 2002; Kevin Jones, 2003; Bryan Randall, 2004; Darryl Tapp, 2005; and Hall). Additionally, Jim Pyne won in 1993, Cornell Brown won in 1995, Corey Moore won in 1999 and Suggs won his first of two Dudley Awards in 2000.

    The Dudley Award is named after former University of Virginia standout "Bullet" Bill Dudley and has been presented annually since 1990 to the player of the year at a state school. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player. In 2004, a separate award was created for players at Division II and Division III schools. The Richmond Times-Dispatch sponsors the awards.

    For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

    HokieSports Shop
    © 2016,