July 26, 2010
Media tabs Virginia Tech as 2010 favorite in ACC
Williams, Taylor, Evans earn votes for preseason player of the year
ACC Media Predictions

Atlantic Division
1. Florida State (78)
2. Clemson (16)
3. Boston College (4)
4. NC State
5. Wake Forest
6. Maryland

Coastal Division
1. Virginia Tech (62)
2. Miami (20)
3. Georgia Tech (11)
4. North Carolina (5)
5. Duke
6. Virginia

ACC Championship Votes
1. Virginia Tech
2. Florida State
3. Miami
4. Georgia Tech
5. Boston College (tie)
North Carolina

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech was the choice of the media assembled for the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Kickoff to win the ACC’s Coastal Division and defeat Florida State for the 2010 ACC Football Championship in voting which was announced Monday at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro. A record number of ballots were cast at the Kickoff with 98 media members voting.

Virginia Tech was chosen on 50 ballots to win its fourth ACC football title in just its seventh year in the league. Florida State finished second with 26 votes, followed by Miami (10), Georgia Tech (8), Boston College (2) and North Carolina (2). The Hokies were tabbed to win the ACC’s Coastal Division with 532 points and 62 first-place votes outdistancing Miami (444 points, 20 first-place votes), Georgia Tech (408), North Carolina (379), Duke (169) and Virginia (126). Florida State compiled 565 points and 78 first-place votes to claim the Atlantic Division title over Clemson (479), Boston College (389), NC State (283), Wake Forest (203) and Maryland (139).

Virginia Tech was previously chosen as the preseason ACC gridiron favorite in 2007 and 2009. The Hokies captured the 2007 ACC title, but finished in the Coastal Division second to ACC champion Georgia Tech last year.

Florida State senior quarterback Christian Ponder, who led the ACC in total offense in 2009 (321.8) after nine games before suffering a season-ending shoulder injury, was a runaway selection as the ACC’s Preseason Player of the Year. Ponder garnered 45 votes to finish ahead of Virginia Tech tailback Ryan Williams (16) and quarterback Tyrod Taylor (11), NC State senior quarterback Russell Wilson (6) and North Carolina defensive end Robert Quinn (6). In all, 12 ACC players received votes for ACC Preseason Player of the Year, including Tech’s Darren Evans.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop