November 8, 2010
Beamer named semifinalist for first Paterno Award
Finalists will be announced Dec. 6

BLACKSBURG – Virginia Tech football coach Frank Beamer has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the first annual Joseph V. Paterno Award for Coach of the Year. The list was announced Monday by Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski and selected by a special Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

To honor the spirit of Coach Paterno’s persona, the winner is based on success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. The committee will decide the award winner. Coach Paterno is not eligible for the award.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, Dec. 6. The formal announcement of the award will be made on Saturday, Dec. 18, 2010.

Joining Beamer as semifinalists are: (listed in alphabetical order)

Bielema, Bret, University of Wisconsin
Calhoun, Troy, United States Air Force Academy
Ferentz, Kirk University of Iowa
Fitzgerald, Pat, Northwestern University
Harbaugh, Jim, Stanford University
Niumatalolo, Ken, United States Naval Academy
O’Brien, Tom, North Carolina State University
Patterson, Gary, Texas Christian University
Petersen, Chris, Boise State University
Pinkel, Gary, University of Missouri
Shannon, Randy, University of Miami
Stoops, Bob, University of Oklahoma
Tressel, Jim, Ohio State University
Whittingham, Kyle, University of Utah

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop