November 29, 2010
Three Hokies named first-team All-ACC
League-record 11 players total honored

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Virginia Tech’s turnaround from an 0-2 start to a perfect ACC regular season and Coastal Division championship has been rewarded on the individual level. Eleven Hokies – the highest total by any school in the ACC’s 12-team era – earned first- or second-team All-ACC acclaim in balloting conducted by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Three Virginia Tech players – quarterback Tyrod Taylor, placekicker Chris Hazley and cornerback Jayron Hosley – were first-team selections. It marks the first all-conference honors for all three players. Eight others – including five defenders – were chosen for the second team.

Making the second team were: offensive guard Jaymes Brooks, offensive tackle Blake DeChristopher, return specialist David Wilson, defensive end Steven Friday, defensive tackle John Graves, linebacker Bruce Taylor, safety Davon Morgan and punter Brian Saunders.

The Hokies’ 11-man honor roll is the largest by a program since 11 Maryland Terrapins made the top two teams in 2002. Back then, however, the league numbered only nine institutions. Virginia Tech and Miami joined the ACC in 2004 and Boston College followed a year later, thereby making the awards process more competitive. The total of honorees remained steady while the league expanded.

Center Beau Warren and tight end Andre Smith were named to the honorable mention squad.

For the complete release and full teams, go to

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop