December 1, 2010
Taylor Named ACC Player of the Year
Hokies to face Seminoles for conference crown Saturday

GREESNBORO, N.C. - Virginia Tech’s Tyrod Taylor, whose passing accuracy and running acumen have led the Hokies to their fourth ACC championship game appearance in the event’s six-year history, is the 2010 ACC Player of the Year according to voting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

The 6-foot-1 senior from Hampton, Va., received 27 of 57 votes cast. He becomes the second Hokie to earn the award. Another QB, Bryan Randall, was the choice in 2004 as Virginia Tech won the conference title in its first year of membership.

“First off, I have to thank the Lord for blessing me with the ability to play football,” Taylor said. “I also have to thank my parents, my family, the coaches, my teammates and all of the Virginia Tech fans. It’s an honor to be recognized as the ACC’s Player of the Year and to see all of my hard work pay off.

“I’m more proud, though, of how this team responded from an 0-2 start, but now we to have finish things off Saturday in Charlotte against a tough Florida State team.”

In 2010, Taylor outpaced N.C. State quarterback Russell Wilson, named by 19 electors. Balloting for Offensive Player of the Year was closer; Taylor earned 31 votes to Wilson’s 23.

Taylor steadily guided Tech from a disappointing 0-2 start that included a defeat to FCS member James Madison. The club became the first in ACC history to lose its first two games and then win its next seven, and it kept going. The streak is now at 10 games, the longest by any ACC team in a decade, and it has propelled the team into Saturday’s conference title game against Florida State in Charlotte, N.C.

Taylor is one of only four quarterbacks nationally with 20 or more touchdown passes and 600 or more rushing yards this season. (The others are Colin Kaepernick of Nevada, Ohio State’s Tyrelle Pryor and Cameron Newton of Auburn.)

Taylor, 15th nationally in passing efficiency, is on pace to lead the ACC in the category for the second straight year. Only Georgia Tech’s Joe Hamilton (1998-99) has done that.

For Taylor, the statistical key is not gaudy yardage totals but interception avoidance. He has the fourth-lowest interception percentage (1.51) in the 120-team FBS and has thrown for 20 touchdowns to complement the Hokies’ deep running game. His efficiency rating of 156.90, subject to change in the final two games, is the eighth-best in a season in ACC history.

Virginia Tech became the first team since Florida State in 2000 to go 8-0 in an ACC regular season.

Tyrod Taylor, QB, Virginia Tech, 27 votes
Russell Wilson, QB, NC State, 19 votes
Da’Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson, 8 votes
Montel Harris, RB, Boston College, 3 votes

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop