December 7, 2010
    Taylor wins Dudley Award
    Senior quarterback becomes 10th different Hokie to win state's top honor
    Past Dudley Award Winners

    Year; Player, School, Position
    1990; Shawn Moore *, Virginia, Quarterback
    1991; Matt Blundin, Virginia, Quarterback
    1992; Cary Perkins, Emory and Henry, Quarterback
    1993; Jim Pyne, Virginia Tech, Offensive lineman
    1994; Mike Frederick, Virginia, Defensive end
    1995; Cornell Brown, Virginia Tech, Defensive end
    1996; Tiki Barber, Virginia, Tailback
    1997; Anthony Poindexter, Virginia, Safety
    1998; Marc Megna, Richmond, Defensive tackle
    1999; Corey Moore, Virginia Tech, Defensive end
    2000; Lee Suggs *, Virginia Tech, Tailback
    2001; Billy McMullen, Virginia, Wide receiver
    2002; Lee Suggs, Virginia Tech, Tailback
    2003; Kevin Jones, Virginia Tech, Tailback
    2004; Bryan Randall, Virginia Tech, Quarterback
    2005; Darryl Tapp, Virginia Tech, Defensive end
    2006; Vince Hall, Virginia Tech, Linebacker
    2007; Chris Long *, Virginia, Defensive end
    2008; Rodney Landers, James Madison, Quarterback
    2009; Cody Grimm, Virginia Tech, Linebacker
    2010; Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, Quarterback
    * - Unanimous selection

    RICHMOND, Va. – For the second year in a row and for the 10th time overall, a Virginia Tech football player has taken home the Dudley Award, given to the state’s top Division I collegiate football player. Tech senior quarterback Tyrod Taylor was presented the award Tuesday night in Richmond. The award is voted on by state media and is sponsored by the Richmond Times-Dispatch and the Richmond Touchdown Club.

    Taylor, a senior, was the player of the year in the Atlantic Coast Conference. He led Virginia Tech to a victory in the ACC championship game and a berth in the Orange Bowl. This season, he has completed 172 of 284 passes for 2,521 yards, 23 touchdowns and just four interceptions.

    Tyler Beiler, wide receiver from Bridgewater College, was the recipient of the Willie Lanier Award, given to the player judged the best among Division II, III and NAIA competitors in the state. Beiler, a senior, caught 61 passes for 1,342 yards and 16 touchdowns this season. He also had 717 yards in kickoff and punt returns. He was second in the nation among Division III players in receiving yards and first in all-purpose yards per game.

    The Dudley Award is named in honor of the late William “Bullet Bill” Dudley, a star player at the University of Virginia. He played in the NFL for Pittsburgh, Detroit and Washington and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Lanier Award is named for Willie Lanier, a Richmond native and resident and also a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Lanier played at Maggie Walker High School, Morgan State University and for the Kansas City Chiefs.

    Linebacker Cody Grimm won the award last year representing Tech. Prior to him, the last Hokie to win the award was linebacker Vince Hall, who capped off a run of five-straight Tech players to win the award (Lee Suggs, 2002; Kevin Jones, 2003; Bryan Randall, 2004; Darryl Tapp, 2005; and Hall). Additionally, Jim Pyne won in 1993, Cornell Brown won in 1995, Corey Moore won in 1999 and Suggs won his first of two Dudley Awards in 2000.

    For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    © 2016,