December 20, 2010
Beamer wins 2010 Joseph V. Paterno Award
Tech head coach honored for team's performance on the field, in the classroom and in the community

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, has announced Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer as the winner of the inaugural Joseph V. Paterno Coach of the Year Award.

Beamer has led the Hokies to 11 straight wins, an ACC title, and a spot in the Orange Bowl versus Stanford. More impressively, he brought his team back from the brink of an 0-2 start, showing the poise and leadership that have been his trademarks for almost a quarter-century with the program. He’s the only FBS coach to win 10 or more games in each of the past seven seasons, while maintaining high academic standards and developing young pillars of the community. Virginia Tech’s latest graduation success rate is 79 percent, placing the school in the top 25 on the field and in the classroom.

“This award is extremely special, No. 1 because of the coach’s name on it, a guy that I have deeply admired for many years and appreciate very much his impact on college football,” Beamer said. “And secondly, because of what it stands for. Academics and involvement in the community are things that I have strived hard to provide, along with a winning football program. I am very appreciative that other people recognize that.”

The award, the first of its kind, is designed to honor the spirit of Penn State head coach Joe Paterno, whose long-time success on the field has been matched only by his impact away from it. Through a nomination process, each current head coach has been evaluated based on his school's performance on Saturdays, in the classroom, and within the community. For almost half a century, Coach Paterno has demanded all-around excellence from his student-athletes, as does an award carrying his name.

”I’ve always admired the job Frank Beamer has done in Blacksburg, both on the field and away from it,” Paterno said. “I’ve been especially impressed by his work in the community. He stands for all that’s good in college sports, a great choice for this year’s winner.”

“This was a vote that was extremely close, indicative of the quality of the final four candidates we sent to our esteemed committee,” Maxwell Football Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert said. “In Coach Beamer, we can’t think of a finer man to represent the meaning and significance of this honor.”

The formal presentation of the award, along with the Maxwell Award (Auburn QB Cam Newton) and Bednarik Award (LSU CB Patrick Peterson) will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, March 4, 2011 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, NJ.

Tickets to the event are available at

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop