October 31, 2011
Hosley named Thorpe Award semifinalist
Junior one of three d-backs from the ACC to make the cut

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Jim Thorpe Association announced Monday 15 semifinalists for the 2011 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football. Virginia Tech junior Jayron Hosley is one of the players to make the cut.

The Thorpe Award, one of the most coveted awards in college football is celebrating its 25th Anniversary in 2011. This Award, established in 1986, is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back.

The 2011 Thorpe Award semifinalists represent four conferences: SEC (7), Big 12 (4), ACC (3), and the Pac 12 (1).

Hosley was a first-team All-American last year and leads the team with three interceptions this year. He missed close to two games with a hamstring injury, but returned last week against Duke. Hosley, who has 12 career interceptions, was named a first-team mid-season All-American by SI.com.

Thorpe Award Semifinalists
Antonio Allen, South Carolina
David Amerson, North Carolina State
Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
Morris Claiborne, LSU
Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
Nigel Malone, Kansas State
Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
T.J. McDonald, USC
Chase Minnifield, Virginia

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop