November 11, 2011
Wilson named Doak Walker Award semifinalist
Junior leads nation in rushing yards

DALLAS, Texas – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2011 Doak Walker Award, including Virginia Tech junior David Wilson. The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Montee Ball (Jr.), Wisconsin
Rex Burkhead (Jr.), Nebraska
Ronnie Hillman (So.), San Diego State
LaMichael James (Jr.), Oregon
Henry Josey (So.), Missouri
Zach Line (Jr.), SMU
Chris Polk (Jr.), Washington
Joseph Randle (So.), Oklahoma State
Trent Richardson (Jr.), Alabama
David Wilson (Jr.), Virginia Tech

Wilson, from Danville, Va., leads the nation with 1,360 yards and is third nationally in rushing yards per game, averaging 136.0 yards per game. he ran for a career-high 175 yards Thursday night in the Hokies' win over No. 20 Georgia Tech on the road, his seventh-straight 100-yard game.

Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2011 finalists. On Monday, Nov. 21, three finalists will be named, and a second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2011 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

For more information, visit the Doak Walker Award's website.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop