November 27, 2011
DeChristopher Named 2011 ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient
Offensive tackle becomes first Hokie to win Jacobs Trophy

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech’s Blake DeChristopher has been awarded the 2011 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday. In doing so, DeChristopher, becomes the first Virginia Tech player to be voted the Jacobs Trophy.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. The trophy will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event which will be held this Friday (6 pm) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

“This is a great honor,” DeChristopher said. “I’m very fortunate to play for a team that has put me in this position and I couldn’t have done it without the 10 other guys on the offense. We worked as a unit up front to come together and protect a young quarterback and open holes for a great running back. I’m just fortunate and so happy to win such a prestigious award.”

DeChristopher, a 6-5, 312-pound fifth-year senior, was named on six of 12 ballots and totaled 10 points in one of the closest votes for the Jacobs Trophy. He outdistanced Florida State senior offensive tackle Zebrie Sanders (9 points) and North Carolina junior guard Jonathan Cooper (9) to capture the 58th ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy. No trophy was given in 1996. In all, 18 different ACC offensive linemen received votes in the balloting.

A four-year starter for Virginia Tech at tackle, DeChristopher was a 2nd-team All-ACC honoree in 2010 and earned Honorable Mention All-ACC accolades as a sophomore in 2009.

“Blake DeChristopher is solid; he’s tough,” said Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer. “He’s a guy who understands the game. Blake has started 49 games for us, and that really helps along the offensive line. You always know what you are going to get from Blake - a good day’s work and all that he’s got.

“The Jacobs Blocking Trophy is a prestigious honor. When you consider all of the good linemen in this league—and you are considered the best—that is quite an honor.

The Midlothian, Va., native was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice during the 2011 season: first for his play on Oct. 8 against Miami, in the Hokies’ dramatic 38-35 win over the Hurricanes, and then for his play on Nov. 17 in Virginia Tech’s 24-21 win over North Carolina.

He has started 49 games in his career and will make his 50th career start in this week’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game. Tech is 38-11 in games he has started. He has graded out to 91 percent on the season with a team-high 117 knockdown blocks. He graded at 90 percent or better in 11 of his 12 games this year.

He helped lead a Virginia Tech offensive line which paved the way for an offense to be ranked 26th nationally rushing offense. He led the way for running back David Wilson to rush for 1595 yards, to lead the Hokies to a No. 5 nationa1 ranking in the BCS, an 11-1 overall record and their fourth berth in the ACC title game in seven years.

Previous Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy

1953 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955 Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958 John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959 Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960 Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961 Art Gregory, T, Duke
Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962 Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963 Chuck Walker,T, Duke
1964 Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965 John McNabb, G, Duke
1966 Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967 Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968 Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969 Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970 Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971 Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972 Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973 Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974 Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975 Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976 Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977 Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980 Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981 Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982 Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983 James Farr, G, Clemson
1984 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986 Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987 John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988 Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989 Chris Port, T, Duke
1990 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992 Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993 Mark Dixon, G, Virginia
1994 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996 no recipient
1997 Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998 Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999 John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000 Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State
2001 Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002 Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003 Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004 Elton Brown, G,Virginia
2005 Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006 Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
2007 Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008 Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop