November 28, 2011
Two Hokies named first-team All-ACC
Six players voted to second team

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Virginia Tech’s 11-1 mark and Coastal Division championship has been rewarded on the individual level as eight Hokies earned first- or second-team All-ACC honors in balloting conducted by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Two Virginia Tech players – offensive tackle Blake DeChristopher and tailback David Wilson – were first-team selections. It marks the first first-team all-conference honors for both players. DeChristopher, who earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the league’s best offensive lineman, was named to the second team last season and this is Wilson’s first year as the starting running back. He made the second team last year as a return specialist. Wilson has 1,595 rushing yards and nine rushing touchdowns heading into Saturday’s ACC Championship Game against Clemson.

Six others – including four defenders – were chosen for the second team. Making the second team were: offensive guard Jaymes Brooks (for the second year in a row) and quarterback Logan Thomas from the offense, and defensive back Kyle Fuller, defensive end James Gayle, defensive back Jayron Hosley and defensive back Eddie Whitley from the defense.

Five Hokies: defensive end J.R. Collins, defensive back Antone Exum, kicker Cody Journell, offensive guard Greg Nosal and injured linebacker Bruce Taylor were named to the honorable mention squad.

For the complete release and full teams, go to

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop