January 28, 2013
    Nine Hokies named to all-state team
    Five named to squad's first team

    HARRISONBURG, Va. – Old Dominion’s sophomore quarterback Taylor Heinicke and Virginia’s senior linebacker Steve Greer were voted the 2012 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year by the Virginia Sports Information Directors. Fellow quarterback, freshman Josh Woodrum of Liberty, was selected as the Offensive Rookie of the Year, and Norfolk State linebacker Lynden Trail joined in on the honors as the 2012 Defensive Rookie of the Year. Old Dominion head coach Bobby Wilder was chosen as Coach of the Year for the University Division.

    Virginia Tech led the state in honorees to the VaSID University Division All-State Football team with nine total. Three schools tied for second-most team members, with Old Dominion, Virginia and James Madison each producing seven athletes. The Cavaliers saw six of its seven honorees garner First Team All-State honors while the Hokies and Monarchs boast five apiece. Making the first team for the Hokies are: Nick Becton, James Gayle, Derrick Hopkins, Jack Tyler and Antone Exum.

    Heinicke, the 2011 VaSID Rookie of the Year, was honored as the 2012 Walter Payton Award winner as the best player at the Football Championship Subdivision level as well as the Dudley Award winner for the best NCAA Division I football player in Virginia. This season, the sophomore set FCS records for single-season passing yardage (5,076) and completions (398). He also set single-game records at the NCAA Division I level with 730 passing yards and 791 yards of total offense in ODU’s 64-61 rally over New Hampshire.

    A 2012 First Team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honoree, Greer led Virginia with 122 tackles this season, including 45 solo takedowns. He finished his career with 376 tackles, ranking sixth all-time for the Cavaliers. This is his third season on the VaSID University Division All-State Football team, having been named to the First Team defensive unit in 2011 and the Second Team defensive unit in 2009.

    Woodrum anchored the Liberty offense on its way to a share of the Big South Conference title, the fifth time the Flames have claimed the crown in the last six seasons. He earned 2012 Big South Freshman of the Year honors and finished 13th for the Jerry Rice Award while setting a Liberty record with 1,963 total offensive yards by a freshman.

    In his first season of play for the Spartans, Trail led the third-ranked team in the country in total defense with 70 tackles. Of those 70 total tackles, 17 were for a loss of yards, tying him for ninth-best nationally. He was named to the All-MEAC first team as well as to the Beyond Sports Network FCS All-America team.

    Wilder was named VaSID Coach of the Year after leading the Monarchs to an 11-2 record and an appearance in the quarterfinal round of the 2012 FCS playoffs as a No. 4 seed. Old Dominion finished the season as the No. 6 team in the country, according to the FCS Coaches’ Poll and FCS The Sports Network Poll. The team also led the country in scoring offense, passing offense and total offense for the season.

    Major Award Winners
    VaSID Offensive Player of the Year – Taylor Heinicke, So., QB, Old Dominion
    VaSID Defensive Player of the Year – Steve Greer, Sr., LB, Virginia
    VaSID Offensive Rookie of the Year – Josh Woodrum, Fr., QB, Liberty
    VaSID Defensive Rookie of the Year – Lynden Trail, Fr., LB, Norfolk State
    VaSID Coach of the Year – Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion

    First Team
    QB – Taylor Heinicke, So., Old Dominion
    RB – Aldreakis Allen, Jr., Liberty
    RB – Jeremiah Schwartz, Sr., Hampton
    WR – Nick Mayers, Sr., Old Dominion
    WR – Ben Edwards, Jr., Richmond
    TE – Jake McGee, So, Virginia
    OL – Oday Aboushi, Sr., Virginia
    OL – Nick Becton, Sr., Virginia Tech
    OL – Aaron Lundy, Sr., Liberty
    OL – Morgan Moses, Jr., Virginia
    OL – Earl Watford, Sr., James Madison
    DL – Chris Burnette, Sr., Old Dominion
    DL – James Gayle, Jr., Virginia Tech
    DL – Derrick Hopkins, Jr., Virginia Tech
    DL – George Riddick, So., Norfolk State
    LB - Steve Greer, Sr., Virginia
    LB – Stephon Robertson, Jr., James Madison
    LB – Jack Tyler, Jr., Virginia Tech
    CB – Antone Exum, Jr., Virginia Tech
    CB – Demetrious Nicholson, So., Virginia
    S – Cooper Taylor, Sr., Richmond
    S – Brent Vinson, Sr., Liberty
    Special Teams
    PK – Jarod Brown, Jr., Old Dominion
    P – Jonathan Plisco, Sr., Old Dominion
    RET – Khalek Shepherd, So., Virginia

    Second Team

    QB – Logan Thomas, Jr., Virginia Tech
    RB – Dae-Quan Scott, Jr., James Madison
    RB – Kendall Gaskins, Sr., Richmond
    WR – Pat Kelly, Sr., Liberty
    WR – Tre McBride II, So., William & Mary
    TE – Brian Barlow, Sr., James Madison
    OL – David Born, Jr., Old Dominion
    OL –Michael Kay, Sr., Norfolk State
    OL – Vinston Painter, Sr., Virginia Tech
    OL – Nick Ritcher, So., Richmond
    OL – Mike Salazar, Sr., William & Mary
    DL –Cory Freeman, Jr., Liberty
    DL – Charlie Jones, Sr., VMI
    DL – Tyler Snow, Jr., James Madison
    DL – Kerry Wynn, Jr., Richmond
    LB - Nick Sigmon, So., Liberty
    LB –Lyndon Trail, Fr., Norfolk State
    LB – Craig Wilkins, Sr., Old Dominion
    CB – Darryl Hamilton, Sr., Richmond
    CB – B.W. Webb, Sr., William & Mary
    S – Anthony Harris, So., Virginia
    S – Dean Marlowe, So., James Madison
    Special Teams
    PK – Cody Journell, Jr., Virginia Tech
    P – A.J. Hughes, Fr., Virginia Tech
    RET – Ryan Smith, Sr., James Madison

    For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    • Men's Soccer - 6 PM
      Thompson Field
      (23) Virginia Tech

    • Volleyball - 7 PM
      Cassell Coliseum
      North Carolina
      Virginia Tech

    © 2016, hokiesports.com