October 24, 2013
Jim Weaver nominated for Courage Award
Award sponsored by the Discover Orange Bowl and the FWAA
DALLAS (FWAA) - Virginia Tech Director of Athletics Jim Weaver is the weekly nominee for the 2013 Discover Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award that will be announced at the end of the season.

Weaver disclosed in 2006 that he suffers from Parkinson's Disease, a degenerative disorder of the central nervous system that can cause speech and coordination problems. He was diagnosed with the disease in 2004.

In recent years he has undergone several back surgeries, but still serves as the Hokies’ athletic director. He doesn’t plan to retire until the end of December 2015 when he will be 70, according to news reports.

Weaver played center and linebacker and was an assistant football coach at Penn State University. He also has been a top-notch athletic administrator in helping to lead schools such as Florida and UNLV out of NCAA probations.

In 2009, he won the National Football Foundation’s John Toner Award, which is given to an outstanding athletic director each year. At Virginia Tech, he has guided the school through conference membership changes twice and a school-wide tragedy and formulated a blue print for one of the best run athletic departments in the country.

The Courage Award was created by ESPN ‘s senior columnist Gene Wojciechowski, also a FWAA member. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa’s Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy’s Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop