October 29, 2013
Kyle Fuller named Bednarik Award semifinalist
Senior one of 16 to make the cut

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Tuesday the 16 semifinalists for the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Among the 16 is Virginia Tech senior cornerback Kyle Fuller, who Monday was named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation’s top defensive back.

Fuller, who was a first-team midseason All-American by SI.com, has played in all eight games, but just seven on defense. He played three snaps on punt return last week against Duke while nursing a groin injury. He leads the ACC and is tied for fifth in the nation with 12 passes defended. He also has two interceptions, 24 tackles, two tackles for loss and a quarterback hurry.

Six different conferences are represented, led by five student-athletes from the ACC.

The winner of the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on Dec. 12, 2013. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner on Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, N.J. Semifinalist voting for the award will begin on Wednesday, Oct.30th and close on Sunday, Nov. 24th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player’s school, position and class designated.

2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists:
Player, Class, Position, College

Anthony Barr, SR, LB, UCLA
Vic Beasley, JR, DE, Clemson
Chris Borland, SR, LB, Wisconsin
Aaron Donald, SR, DT, Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, JR, CB, Oregon
Kyle Fuller, SR, CB, Virginia Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat, SR, DE, Texas
Lamarcus Joyner, SR, CB, Florida State
Khalil Mack, SR, LB, Buffalo
C.J. Mosley, SR, LB, Alabama
Trent Murphy, SR, LB, Stanford
Michael Sam, SR, DE, Missouri
Ryan Shazier, JR, LB, Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy, SR, LB, BYU
Nikita Whitlock, SR, DT, Wake Forest
Leonard Williams, SO, DE, USC

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop