November 27, 2013
Tyler, Hopkins Honored by the Touchdown Club of Richmond
Duo named Club’s LB and DL of the year

BLACKSBURG – Virginia Tech football players Jack Tyler and Derrick Hopkins have been named College Award winners by the Touchdown Club of Richmond. Tyler has been named the Touchdown Club’s linebacker of the year and Hopkins takes home defensive lineman of the year honors. For Hpokins, it’s the second year in a row he’s been honored.

Tyler, Hopkins and 12 other players from colleges in the Commonwealth of Virginia will be honored at the 2013 Dudley/Lanier Award banquet on Wednesday, Dec. 4, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel.

Tyler, from Oakton, Va., once again leads the Hokies defense in tackles as he’s racked up 89 stops heading into Saturday’s game. Included in those 89 tackles are nine tackles for loss and four sacks. He also has a forced fumble and 11 quarterback hurries. Hopkins, from Highland Springs, Va., has 45 tackles, including seven for loss and four sacks. He also has a blocked kick, a fumble recovery and 11 quarterback hurries.

The Touchdown Club of Richmond also honored Old Dominion’s Taylor Heinicke as the offensive back of the year, Virginia’s Morgan Moses as the offensive lineman of the year, Richmond’s Ben Edwards as offensive end/tight end of the year, Virginia Anthony Harris as the defensive back of the year and Old Dominion’s Jarod Brown as the specialist of the year. Heinicke, Edwards and Hopkins are repeat winners from 2012.

The Dudley Award Banquet is open to the public and will be held Wednesday, Dec. 4, at the Hilton Richmond Hotel, 12042 West Broad Street, 7:30 p.m., with a pre-banquet social at 6:30 p.m. Tickets cost $40.00 each and may be purchased by contacting Rudy Ward, 804.551.0980, or

Also at this event, the Dudley Award and the Lanier Award will be presented to the top collegiate player in the state with the Dudley Award going to a NCAA Division I player and the Lanier Award presented to a player from a NCAA Division II, IIII, NAIA and IUSCAA college. The finalists for each award will be featured in the Richmond Times-Dispatch on Monday with the winner being announced at the banquet on Dec. 4.

The Dudley Award is named for the late Bill Dudley, an NFL Hall of Famer who starred at Virginia while the Lanier Award is named for Willie Lanier, also an NFL Hall of Famer who graduated from Richmond’s Maggie Walker High School. The Touchdown Club of Richmond is a sports-social organization that serves to promote the best interests of the American game of football and sports in general, under the guidance of elected officers with the predominate purpose being to recognize worthy athletes for their accomplishments and to encourage them to continue their education and athletic careers.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Football).

HokieSports Shop