July 7, 2015
Two Hokies named to Bednarik Award watch list
Kendall Fuller and Dadi Nicolas up for award that goes to college football's top defensive player

Virginia Tech defensive back Kendall Fuller and defensive end Dadi Nicolas have been named to the “watch list” for the 21st annual Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to college football’s defensive player of the year.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

Fuller is a returning semifinalist to the Bednarik watch list. Other semifinalists to make this year’s watch list include 2014 winner Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright, Ohio State defensive end Joey Bosa, Michigan State defensive end Shilique Calhoun, Florida cornerback Vernon Hargreaves III, Baylor defensive end Shawn Oakman, Notre Dame linebacker Jaylon Smith, Florida State defensive back Jalen Ramsey and Alabama linebacker A’Shawn Robinson.

Fuller, a Baltimore, Maryland, native, was a second-team All-American a year ago (Walter Camp, Fox Sports and USA Today) and a first-team All-ACC choice by both the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association and the league’s coaches. He started all 13 games as a sophomore and had 54 tackles (32 solo), including 4.5 for a loss. He also had two interceptions and two sacks.

Nicolas, a native of Delray Beach, Florida, earned second-team All-ACC honors a year ago by both the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association and the league’s coaches. He tied for fourth on the team with 72 tackles (33 solo). He also led the team in tackles for a loss (18.5) and finished second on the team with nine sacks. His 35 hurries also led the squad, and he blocked two kicks to lead the team.

To view the entire list of those who made the team, please read: https://www.maxwellfootballclub.org/news/2015-pre-season-watch-lists-maxwell-and-benarik-awards.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 2, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 23. The winner of the 2015 Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 10. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 11, 2016.

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop