December 25, 2015
Football team awards announced
Isaiah Ford garners team MVP honor

SHREVEPORT, La. – At the team’s walk-thru on Friday at Independence Stadium, a day before its final game of the 2015 season against Tulsa in the Independence Bowl, the Virginia Tech coaching staff announced the Hokies’ team awards for the year.

The following awards were voted on by the team:

Permanent Team Captains: Luther Maddy, Ryan Malleck, Michael Brewer, J.C. Coleman
Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Luther Maddy
Outstanding Defensive LinebackerAndrew Motuapuaka
Outstanding Defensive BackChuck Clark
Outstanding Offensive LinemanWyatt Teller
Outstanding Offensive ReceiverIsaiah Ford
Outstanding Offensive BackTravon McMillian
Outstanding SpecialistA.J. Hughes and Joey Slye
Most Valuable Player – Isaiah Ford

The following awards were voted on by the coaching staff:
John William Schneider Award (this is given in memory of former player William Schneider, who was killed in an automobile crash. It goes to a player who excels in athletics, scholarship and leadership): Ken Ekanem

Paul Torgersen Award (given in honor of former Tech President Paul Torgersen, who has served the university with distinction for three decades in a variety of capacities. The award goes to a player who shows a commitment to hard work and great effort every time he takes the field): Michael Brewer

Williams - Moss Award (named in honor of John E. Williams, a former Dean of the College, and Joseph S. Moss, a former player and coach at Tech. The award goes to the player who demonstrates the highest quality of leadership and character): Ryan Malleck

Paul Frederick Cobb Award (this award is given in memory of former Tech player Freddie Cobb, who was awarded the Navy Cross for heroism in Vietnam. It goes to the most spirited player): Sam Rogers

Lawrence R. White Award (this award is given in honor of the late Lawrence White, a former Tech linebacker who excelled in the weight room and was a positive role model for all Tech football players. It is given to the team's most outstanding strength and conditioning athlete): Augie Conte

Wes Worsham Award (named for long-time Tech supporter Wes Worsham, this award is given to a player who exceeds expectations and surprises everyone with his performance): Wade Hansen

Edward G. Ferrell Award (this award is given in honor of the late Eddie Ferrell, whose hard work, sense of humor, devotion and unselfishness touched thousands of athletes during his 28-year career as a trainer at Tech. It is given to the player who best exemplifies hard work and unselfishness): Donovan Riley and Ronny Vandyke

Outstanding Senior Award: Luther Maddy

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @vthokiefootball Instagram

HokieSports Shop