Hodges named semifinalist for 2016 John Mackey Award

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Redshirt-junior tight end Bucky Hodges of the Virginia Tech football team has been named a semifinalist for the 2016 John Mackey Award announced on Monday. The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.

NFL Hall of Famer John Mackey was one of the best tight ends in the game and was a role model on and off the field, demonstrating by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to the community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

Hodges, a Virginia Beach native, is one of eight student-athletes selected as a semifinalists which was determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Hodges was also one of three Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) tight ends to land on the list.

Hodges has started 33-of-36 games for the Hokies, totaling 121 receptions for 1,570 yards and 18 touchdowns in his career. He holds several Tech records at the tight end position and passed Tech Hall of Famer and color analyst for Tech’s radio broadcast Mike Burnop for the top spot in receptions and yards this year, while reaching the touchdown mark early last season.

Hodges currently sits at the No. 2 slot for career touchdowns in the conference and has started moving up the top 10 list in receptions and yards. He is fifth on the ACC’s tight end receptions list and is seventh on the receiving yards list. Hodges has racked up 514 receiving yards and five touchdowns on the year.

Of note, Hodges also was named the John Mackey Tight End of the Week on Oct. 26 and Nov. 1 following his performances vs. Miami and Pittsburgh, respectively.

The John Mackey Award has been presented since 2000 and recognizes 14 alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (2001), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (2002), Kellen Winslow II (2003), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (2004), Marcedes Lewis (2005) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (2006), Fred Davis (2007), Chase Coffman (2008), D.J. Williams (2010), Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (2012) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins (2013) of the New York Jets, Nick O’Leary (2014) of the Buffalo Bills and 2015 John Mackey Award recipient Hunter Henry of the San Diego Chargers.

Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2016 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 7 and presented live on Thursday, Dec. 8 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2016 Mackey Finalist on Tuesday, Nov. 22. CLICK HERE to go to the official John Mackey Award website.

2016 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists

  • Adam Breneman (JR, Massachusetts)
  • Jake Butt (JR, Michigan)
  • Evan Engram (SR, Ole Miss)
  • Gerald Everett (SR, South Alabama)
  • Cole Hikutini (SR, Louisville)
  • Bucky Hodges (JR, Virginia Tech)
  • O.J. Howard (SR, Alabama)
  • ​Jordan Leggett (SR, Clemson)

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @vthokiefootball Instagram