Fuente Named a Semifinalist For National Coach of Year Honors

PHILADLEPHIA – Former NFL great and longtime ESPN analyst Ron Jaworski announced Friday that Virginia Tech head coach Justin Fuente is one of 16 semifinalists for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award, which is presented yearly by the Maxwell Football Club. Jaworski serves as president of the Maxwell Club.

Fuente and UCF’s Scott Frost are the only two coaches on the list who are in their first seasons at their respective schools. In addition, Fuente is only one of two ACC head coaches on the semifinalist list.

Voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award begins Friday and close on Sunday, Dec. 11. The finalist round will include the top three coaches with voting running from Dec. 12-27. The winner will be announced on Dec. 29.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 10, 2017 at the Tropicana Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City, N.J.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Dabo Swinney from Clemson University was the 2015 winner of the award.

George Munger Coach of the Year Semifinalists
Justin Fuente - Virginia Tech
Nick Saban - Alabama
Mike MacIntyre - Colorado
Bobby Petrino - Louisville
Jim Harbaugh - Michigan
Urban Meyer - Ohio State
James Franklin - Penn State
Neal Brown - Troy
Ken Niumatalolo - Navy
Scott Frost - UCF
Kyle Whittingham - Utah
Chris Petersen - Washington
Mike Leach - Washington State
Dana Holgorsen - West Virginia
P.J. Fleck - Western Michigan
Paul Chryst - Wisconsin

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @vthokiefootball Instagram