Tech announces team awards

BLACKSBURG – The Virginia Tech football coaching staff revealed the Hokies’ team awards for the 2016 season.

The following awards were voted on by the players:

Most Valuable Player - ​Jerod Evans, out of Dallas, Texas, has enjoyed one of the best seasons ever for a quarterback at the school. The junior is already the single-season record holder in five categories and has a shot and eclipsing four more records in the Hokies’ bowl game in Charlotte, North Carolina

Outstanding Defensive LinemanWoody Baron has put forth one of the best seasons for a Tech interior defensive lineman over the past 20 seasons. The Nashville, Tennessee senior's 17.5 TFLs in 2016 leads all Power 5 defensive tackles this season and are the most at the school since J.C. Price had 23.0 in 1995.

Outstanding Defensive LinebackerAndrew Motuapuaka, a redshirt-junior from Virginia Beach, leads the Hokies with 106 total tackles and is second on the team with 49 solo tackles, which includes 5.0 tackles-for-loss and 2.0 sacks. He has intercepted three passes this season, including one in the ACC Championship Game versus Clemson and adds two fumble recovers, one of which he took back 70 yards for a touchdown.

Outstanding Defensive BackTerrell Edmunds, a redshirt-junior from Danville, Virginia, is fourth on the team in tackles, totaling 45 solo stops and 39 assists. He also tallied a career-high three interceptions on the year and one fumble recovery. According to STATS, LLC, Edmunds allowed just one touchdown all season and is currently third among ACC strong safeties in total tackles.

Outstanding Offensive LinemanWyatt Teller, out of Bealeton, Virginia, has been named to three postseason teams after playing in all 13 games this season with 11 straight starts at left guard. He's earned this honor for the second straight season.

Outstanding Offensive ReceiverIsaiah Ford set single-season school records for receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns last season and followed up in 2016 by etching his name in the record books in those career categories. The Jacksonville, Florida product currently has 24 career TDs, 2,911 receiving yards and 204 receptions. He is Tech's only 1,000 single-season yards receiver, and he's done it twice.

Outstanding Offensive BackSam Rogers, a senior from Mechanicsville, Virginia, notched the first 100-yard rushing game of his career with 105 vs. Virginia (11/26), which included his first two rushing TDs of the year - one of which included a career-long run of 31 yards. With his first rushing TD, Rogers became the first player at Tech since Tony Kennedy to have a rushing TD, a passing TD and a receiving TD in the same season. Kennedy had three rushing, one passing and one receiving TD during the 1992 season. Rogers has two rushing, one passing and three receiving.

Outstanding SpecialistJoey Slye, a junior from Stafford, Virginia, became the first Hokie ACC First Team kicker since Chris Hazley in 2010 with his earlier selection. Slye is fourth in the league in scoring with 113 points and first among kickers. With four points in the Belk Bowl, Slye will surpass the school record in points in a season by kicking which Hazley holds at 116 and set in 2010.

The following awards were voted on by the coaching staff:

Outstanding Senior Award: Sam Rogers

John William Schneider Award - this is given in memory of former player William Schneider, who was killed in an automobile crash. It goes to a player who excels in athletics, scholarship and leadership: Ken Ekanem

Paul Torgersen Award - given in honor of former Tech President Paul Torgersen, who has served the university with distinction for three decades in a variety of capacities. The award goes to a player who shows a commitment to hard work and great effort every time he takes the field: Woody Baron

Williams - Moss Award - named in honor of John E. Williams, a former Dean of the College, and Joseph S. Moss, a former player and coach at Tech. The award goes to the player who demonstrates the highest quality of leadership and character: Chuck Clark

Paul Frederick Cobb Award - this award is given in memory of former Tech player Freddie Cobb, who was awarded the Navy Cross for heroism in Vietnam. It goes to the most spirited player: Jonathan McLaughlin

Lawrence R. White Award - this award is given in honor of the late Lawrence White, a former Tech linebacker who excelled in the weight room and was a positive role model for all Tech football players. It is given to the team's most outstanding strength and conditioning athlete: Augie Conte

Wes Worsham Award - named for long-time Tech supporter Wes Worsham, this award is given to a player who exceeds expectations and surprises everyone with his performance: Nigel Williams

Edward G. Ferrell Award - this award is given in honor of the late Eddie Ferrell, whose hard work, sense of humor, devotion and unselfishness touched thousands of athletes during his 28-year career as a trainer at Tech. It is given to the player who best exemplifies hard work and unselfishness: Brenden Motley

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @vthokiefootball Instagram