Settle added to Bednarik Award Watch List

BLACKSBURG – Sophomore DT Tim Settle was added to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch list on Wednesday, while freshman WR Sean Savoy was named as this week’s nominee for the 2017 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Settle leads the Hokies and ranks eighth in the ACC in tackles for loss (9.5). The Manassas, Virginia native had five tackles, a sack and 3.5 TFL in Saturday’s 59-7 win vs. North Carolina. He owns 23 total tackles (11 solo) on the season, while ranking seventh in the ACC with 3.0 sacks. He has also registered a pass breakup and a blocked kick in 2017.

Semifinalists for Bednarik Awards will be announced on October 30 and three finalists for each award will be announced November 20. The winners of the 2017 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 7 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 9, 2018.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame (1969) and the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1967).


Savoy ranks second on the Hokies in receptions (28), receiving yards (360) and receiving touchdowns (three). His three TD catches also for fifth in the ACC. He has added 44 rushing yards and one rushing TD. He earned ACC Rookie of the Week after a 23-10 win at Boston College on Oct. 7. The true freshman caught nine passes for a season-high 139 yards in that contest, including a 53-yard touchdown.

Tragically, Savoy learned after that game that his brother, Omar Rodgers, had been shot and killed in their hometown of Washington, D.C. Last week, he registered a 23-yard catch on Tech’s first play from scrimmage in a 59-7 win vs. North Carolina

“It kind of helped me a little bit ease the pain,” Savoy told reporters of playing in the game. “But when I go out there and I don’t see him out there anymore it touched me a little bit, because I know he’s with me but I’m used to seeing him right there right behind the bench rooting me on.”

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @HokiesFB Instagram