Tech announces 2017 football awards prior to Camping World Bowl

BLACKSBURG – The Virginia Tech football coaching staff revealed the Hokies’ team awards for the 2017 season.

The following awards were voted on by the players:

Most Valuable Player – Senior CB Greg Stroman has been a big-play threat in the secondary and as a punt returner throughout his Tech career. His 384 punt return yards are the second-highest total in the nation, while his two punt return TDs tied for the ACC lead. He ranked third in the ACC with four INTs, including one which he returned for a 24-yard touchdown at Georgia Tech. Stroman was also voted the team’s top defensive back.

Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Junior DT Ricky Walker has been termed the “Bell Cow,” of Tech’s Lunch Pail Defense for good reason. He registered 10.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks this season and returned a fumble for a 12-yard TD against North Carolina.

Outstanding Linebacker – Junior LB Tremaine Edmunds was one of five finalists for the Butkus Award and was a consensus All-ACC pick, while earning a host of All-America accolades. He leads Tech in tackles (102), tackles for loss (14.0), sacks (5.5) and forced fumbles (three).

Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Bealeton, Virginia native Wyatt Teller earned this honor for a third straight season. Another consensus All-ACC selection, Teller has started 23 straight games, the longest active string on Tech’s offense.

Outstanding Offensive Receiver Cam Phillips closed his Tech career in record-setting fashion and will leave Blacksburg as Virginia Tech’s all-time leader in receptions (236) and receiving yards (3,027) after accumulating 71 catches for 984 yards and seven TDs in 2017.

Outstanding Offensive Back – Galax, Virginia product Steven Peoples battled injuries throughout the season, but proved to be a versatile and productive performer for Tech’s offense. His signature performance of the season came in a 38-0 win over Old Dominion when he ran for two touchdowns and caught a 43-yard score from QB Josh Jackson.

Outstanding Specialist – Australia native P Oscar Bradburn was an unknown commodity heading into the season, but was heralded as a new weapon for Tech’s famed special teams by the year’s end. Thanks to his high hang time and the Hokies’ coverage units, Tech allowed only 42 punt return yards all season. In total, Virginia Tech permitted 307 combined punt and kickoff return yards in 2017, the lowest tally of any Power Five squad.

The following awards were voted on by the coaching staff:

Outstanding Senior Award: Andrew Motuapuaka provided steady leadership for a defense that concluded the regular season ranked fifth in the nation, allowing 13.5 points per game. The Hokies also led the nation with a 46.9 opponent completion percentage, while ranking second in the nation on third down at 25.1 percent. His 85 total tackles ranked second on the squad.

John William Schneider Award – Given in memory of former player William Schneider, who was killed in an automobile crash. It goes to a player who excels in athletics, scholarship and leadership: Brandon Facyson

Paul Torgersen Award – Given in honor of former Tech President Paul Torgersen, who has served the university with distinction for three decades in a variety of capacities. The award goes to a player who shows a commitment to hard work and great effort every time he takes the field: Eric Gallo

Williams - Moss Award – Named in honor of John E. Williams, a former Dean of the College, and Joseph S. Moss, a former player and coach at Tech. The award goes to the player who demonstrates the highest quality of leadership and character: Greg Stroman

Paul Frederick Cobb Award – This award is given in memory of former Tech player Freddie Cobb, who was awarded the Navy Cross for heroism in Vietnam. It goes to the most spirited player: Sean Huelskamp

Lawrence R. White Award – Given in honor of the late Lawrence White, a former Tech linebacker who excelled in the weight room and was a positive role model for all Tech football players. It is given to the team's most outstanding strength and conditioning athlete: Wyatt Teller & Joey Slye

Wes Worsham Award – Named for long-time Tech supporter Wes Worsham, this award is given to a player who exceeds expectations and surprises everyone with his performance: Deon Newsome

Edward G. Ferrell Award – Given in honor of the late Eddie Ferrell, whose hard work, sense of humor, devotion and unselfishness touched thousands of athletes during his 28-year career as a trainer at Tech. It is given to the player who best exemplifies hard work and unselfishness: Anthony Shegog

For updates on Virginia Tech football, follow the Hokies on Twitter and on Instagram @HokiesFB Instagram