2002 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

Overall

10-4

Non-Conference

7-0

Conference

3-4

Home

6-2

Away

3-2

Neutral

1-0

    Hispanic College Fund Football Classic
    Sun, Aug 25 / 2:30 pm
    Arkansas State
    Lane Stadium
    Syndicated/ERT
    W, 63-7
    • VT Ranked: 16
    Sun, Sep 1 / 2:30 pm
    14 LSU
    Lane Stadium

    W, 26-8
    • VT Ranked: 16
    Thu, Sep 12 / 7:45 pm
    16 Marshall
    Lane Stadium

    W, 47-21
    • VT Ranked: 11
    Sat, Sep 21 / 3:30 pm
    at 19 Texas A&M
    College Station, Texas

    W, 13-3
    • VT Ranked: 7
    Sat, Sep 28 / Noon
    at Western Michigan
    Kalamazoo, Mich.

    W, 30-0
    • VT Ranked: 5
    Thu, Oct 10 / 7:45 pm
    at Boston College *
    Chestnut Hill, Mass.

    W, 28-23
    • VT Ranked: 4
    Homecoming/Orange Effect
    Sat, Oct 19 / 1 pm
    Rutgers *
    Lane Stadium
    HokieVision (campus)
    W, 35-14
    • VT Ranked: 3
    Sat, Oct 26 / 1 pm
    Temple *
    Lane Stadium
    HokieVision (campus)
    W, 20-10
    • VT Ranked: 3
    Sat, Nov 2 / 7:30 pm
    Pitt *
    Lane Stadium

    L, 21-28
    • VT Ranked: 3
    Sat, Nov 9 / 3:30 pm
    at Syracuse *
    Syracuse, N.Y.

    L, 42-50 (3OT)
    • VT Ranked: 8
    Wed, Nov 20 / 7 pm
    West Virginia *
    Lane Stadium

    L, 18-21
    • VT Ranked: 13
    Maroon Effect
    Sat, Nov 30 / 3:30 pm
    Virginia
    Lane Stadium

    W, 21-9
    • VT Ranked: 22
    Sat, Dec 7 / 1 pm
    at 1 Miami *
    Miami, Fla.

    L, 45-56
    • VT Ranked: 18
    San Francisco Bowl
    Tue, Dec 31 / 10:30 pm
    vs. Air Force
    San Francisco, Calif.

    W, 20-13
    • VT Ranked: 21
    • Head Coach: Frank Beamer
    • Season Stats: View
  • Preseason Ranking: 16
  • Final Ranking: 18
  • Notes: * - conference game
    Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
    All Times Eastern