February 4, 2014
    Tech picked eighth in ACC Preseason Poll
    Around The

    GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Virginia Tech women’s lacrosse team was picked to finish eighth in the 2014 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll, announced by the league office Tuesday afternoon. The preseason poll and team were voted on by all eight of the league’s head coaches.

    2013 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Champion North Carolina was selected as the top team in the league and the nation entering the season, as the top three of the ACC Preseason Coaches Poll mirrors that of the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association’s poll. Maryland holds the No. 2 ranking and ACC-newcomer Syracuse No. 3 in each poll.

    The Hokies, who are receiving votes in the IWLCA Preseason Poll, will begin their season on Saturday, Feb. 15 as they travel to Harrisonburg, Va., to take on James Madison at 1 p.m.

    ACC Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll

    1. North Carolina (4 first place votes, 60 points)

    2. Maryland (2 first place votes, 54 points)

    3. Syracuse (2 first place votes, 53 points)

    4. Duke (34)

    5. Virginia (29)

    6. Norte Dame (27)

    7. Boston College (23)

    8. Virginia Tech (8)

    Preseason All-ACC Team


    Abbey Friend, Sr., A North Carolina

    Brooke Griffin, R-Jr., A, Maryland

    Kayla Treanor, So., A, Syracuse


    Taylor Cummings, So., M, Maryland

    Kelly McPartland, Jr., M, Maryland

    Mikaela Rix, Jr., M, Boston College


    Sloane Serpe, Sr., D, North Carolina

    Barbara Sullivan, Jr. D, Notre Dame

    Taylor Virden, Sr., D, Duke


    Casey Bocklet, Jr., A, Virginia

    Alyssa Murray, Sr., A, Syracuse

    Covie Stanwick, Jr., A, Boston College


    Kelsey Duryea, So., GK, Duke

    *Due to a tie in voting, an extra member was added to the team

    For updates on Virginia Tech lacrosse, follow the Hokies on Twitter

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    • Swimming & Diving - 11 AM
      Christiansburg Aquatic Center
      Duke with West Virginia and William & Mary
    © 2016, hokiesports.com