March 26, 2013
Green earns NABC All-District 2 honors
Senior earns first such honor
BLACKSBURG, Va. – Senior guard Erick Green was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 2 first team, as announced by the organization Tuesday.

This is the first of such honors for Green, while it was also announced Tuesday that he was named the Times-Dispatch State Player of the Year.

The NABC All-District Teams are voted on by member coaches of the NABC. All student-athletes on the all-district teams are eligible for NABC All-America honors.

Green finished his senior campaign as the nation’s leading scorer, averaging 25.0 points per game, which also helped earn him ACC Player of the Year and first team All-ACC honors already this season.

Green set a new school record with 801 points scored this season, breaking the old mark of 785 by Bimbo Coles in the 1989-90 season. In the regular season finale at Wake Forest, he scored his 1,700th career point and moved past Ace Custis into 10th place in career scoring at Virginia Tech.

2012-13 NABC District II Team

First Team
Shane Larkin (Miami)
Mason Plumlee (Duke)
Joe Harris (Virginia)
Erick Green (Virginia Tech)
Kenny Kadji (Miami)

Second Team
Seth Curry (Duke)
Richard Howell (N.C. State)
C.J. Leslie (N.C. State)
James Michael McAdoo (North Carolina)
Lorenzo Brown (N.C. State)

For updates on Virginia Tech men's basketball, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_MBBall).

HokieSports Shop