1978-1979 Schedule & Results

Select A Season


Sat, Nov 25 / 12 am
Buffalo State
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 119-66
Mon, Nov 27 / 12 am
Samford
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 101-68
Sat, Dec 2 / 12 am
vs. VMI
Roanoke, Va.
W, 79-66
Sat, Dec 9 / 12 am
William & Mary
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 84-59
Sat, Dec 16 / 12 am
at Old Dominion
Norfolk, Va.
W, 91-88
Times-World Holiday Classic
Wed, Dec 20 / 12 am
vs. St. Louis *
Roanoke, Va.
W, 90-71
Thu, Dec 21 / 12 am
vs. Delaware
Roanoke, Va.
W, 81-69
Sat, Dec 30 / 12 am
James Madison
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 77-60
Wed, Jan 3 / 12 am
at New Orleans
New Orleans, La.
W, 62-60
Sat, Jan 6 / 12 am
Cincinnati *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 68-72
Mon, Jan 8 / 12 am
at St. Bonaventure
Olean, N.Y.
L, 76-95
Wed, Jan 10 / 12 am
at West Virginia
Morgantown, W.Va.
L, 82-83
Sat, Jan 13 / 12 am
Penn State
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 83-68
Wed, Jan 17 / 12 am
vs. Virginia
Richmond, Va.
L, 78-93
Mon, Jan 22 / 12 am
Richmond
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 100-80
Sun, Jan 28 / 12 am
at Louisville *
Louisville, Ky.
L, 72-82
Tue, Jan 30 / 12 am
City College of New York
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 113-51
Fri, Feb 2 / 12 am
vs. NC State
Charlotte, N.C.
L, 88-97
Sat, Feb 3 / 1 am
vs. 4 North Carolina
Charlotte, N.C.
L, 80-92 (OT)
Wed, Feb 7 / 12 am
Old Dominion
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 91-85
Sat, Feb 10 / 12 am
vs. Virginia
Roanoke, Va.
L, 72-78
Mon, Feb 12 / 12 am
at William & Mary
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 55-49
Sat, Feb 17 / 12 am
Georgia Southern
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 104-84
Mon, Feb 19 / 12 am
at Cincinnati *
Cincinnati, Ohio
W, 76-75
Wed, Feb 21 / 12 am
West Virginia
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 73-61
Sat, Feb 24 / 12 am
at Richmond
Richmond, Va.
W, 93-91
Metro Tournament
Thu, Mar 1 / Noon
vs. Cincinnati
Memphis, Tenn.
W, 80-74
Fri, Mar 2 / 1 am
vs. 13 Louisville
Memphis, Tenn.
W, 72-68
Sat, Mar 3 / Noon
vs. Florida State
Memphis, Tenn.
W, 68-60
NCAA Tournament
Fri, Mar 9 / 12 am
vs. Jacksonville
Lawrence, Kans.
W, 70-53
Sun, Mar 11 / 1 am
vs. 1 Indiana State
Lawrence, Kans.
L, 69-86
  • Overall: 22-9
  • Conference: 2-2
  • Home: 10-1
  • Away: 5-3
  • Neutral: 7-5
  • Head Coach: Charles Moir

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll