1988-1989 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

Overall

11-17

Non-Conference

9-7

Conference

2-10

Home

6-6

Away

3-10

Neutral

2-1

Mon, Nov 28
Wofford
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 101-65
Sat, Dec 3
William & Mary
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 96-75
Tue, Dec 6
James Madison
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 103-84
Thu, Dec 8
at Alabama
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
L, 76-79
Sat, Dec 10
at Old Dominion
Norfolk, Va.
W, 105-92
Sat, Dec 17
at West Virginia
Morgantown, W.Va.
L, 52-101
Tue, Dec 20
at 6 Georgetown
Washington, D.C.
L, 57-87
Times-Dispatch Invitational
Thu, Dec 29
vs. Richmond
Richmond, Va.
W, 79-68
Fri, Dec 30
at VCU
Richmond, Va.
W, 97-91
Wed, Jan 4
at Marshall
Huntington, W.Va.
L, 104-108
Sat, Jan 7
Marquette
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 90-93
Mon, Jan 9
13 Louisville *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 73-82
Sat, Jan 14
at Memphis *
Memphis, Tenn.
L, 83-91
Mon, Jan 16
Missouri
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 99-104
Thu, Jan 19
vs. VMI
Roanoke, Va.
W, 90-83 (OT)
Sat, Jan 21
at Southern Miss *
Hattiesburg, Miss.
L, 78-91
Wed, Jan 25
vs. Virginia
Richmond, Va.
L, 106-113 (OT)
Sat, Jan 28
Florida State *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 97-100
Wed, Feb 1
at 7 Louisville *
Louisville, Ky.
L, 95-108
Sat, Feb 4
Southern Miss *
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 107-92
Wed, Feb 8
at Charlotte
Charlotte, N.C.
W, 84-76
Wed, Feb 15
at South Carolina *
Columbia, S.C.
L, 70-81
Sat, Feb 18
Cincinnati *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 79-90
Mon, Feb 20
East Tennessee State
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 82-79
Sat, Feb 25
at Cincinnati *
Cincinnati, Ohio
L, 84-98
Mon, Feb 27
South Carolina *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 79-86
Wed, Mar 1
at Florida State *
Tallahassee, Fla.
L, 97-117
Sat, Mar 4
Memphis *
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 78-73
  • Head Coach: Frankie Allen

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll