May 10, 2010
Hokies 11th seed in Notre Dame Regional
Golfers to make fourth consecutive NCAA Regional appearance

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Virginia Tech golf team has received an at-large bid to the 2010 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship. The Hokies will compete May 20-22 as the 11th seed at the Warren Golf Course in Notre Dame, Ind., hosted by the University of Notre Dame.

This will be the Hokies’ fourth consecutive NCAA appearance and their 12th all-time appearance in the NCAA Championship. Tech was the 10th seed in the Southwest Regional last season and finished 12th in the event at University of Texas Golf Club in Austin, Texas.

“It is quite an honor to represent Virginia Tech in the NCAA Championship and we do so with great pride,” head coach Jay Hardwick said. “This reward is a testament to the hard work and dedication that this young team has shown throughout the season. It is also a tribute to the strength of golf in the ACC that nine of the 11 teams were selected for post-season play again this year.”

Virginia Tech, which does not have a senior on its 2010 roster, finished in the top 10 of seven of its 10 events this season, including two top five finishes. Tech won the Pinehurst Intercollegiate by Gatorade at Pinehurst #8 Course in March. The Hokies enter the regionals ranked 62nd nationally by and 61st nationally by the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Virginia Tech is one of nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the regionals and one of four ACC teams competing at Notre Dame. Tech finished eighth in the 2010 ACC Men’s Golf Championship in April.

The Hokies are familiar with this golf course, as it served as the host to the BIG EAST Golf Championship during the Hokies’ final three seasons in the league. Tech won BIG EAST Championship in 2002 and 2003 on the Warren Course and finished second in 2004. Tech claimed individual titles in all three seasons that the BIG EAST Championship was played at the Warren Golf Course, as Johnson Wagner won in 2002, Brendon de Jonge won in 2003 and Ryan Stinnett won in 2004.

Stanford is the number-one seed in South Bend, followed by Florida, Florida State, Duke and LSU. There are six regional sites. Three sites, including South Bend, have 14 teams and five individuals, while the other three sites have 13 teams and 10 individuals. The top five teams from each site advance to the NCAA Championship, along with the low individual from each site not on an advancing team. The championship rounds will be played at the The Honors Course in Ooltewah, Tenn., June 1-6.

For updates on Virginia Tech golf, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_MGolf).

HokieSports Shop