June 28, 2010
Eckstein named to academic team
Hokie junior returns to All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team

BLACKSBURG, Va. – Virginia Tech golfer Aaron Eckstein has been named to the 2010 All-ACC Academic Team as announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Eckstein, a junior from Salem, Virginia, is one of 18 members on the team and one of eight golfers to have made the team in previous years. Eckstein was named to the team as a freshman in 2008. To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

All-ACC Academic team members also earning All-ACC honors in 2010 were Duke’s Adam Long, Georgia Tech’s James White, Virginia’s Will Collins and Wake Forest’s Lee Bedford and Brendan Gielow.

Duke led the way with five players represented on the All-ACC Academic team. Georgia Tech and Wake Forest claimed three players each while Boston College, Clemson and North Carolina captured two players each. NC State, Virginia and Virginia Tech landed one player each to round out the team.

2010 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team

Name, Class, School Major

Craig Kublin, Jr., Boston College Communications

$Kyle McCartan, So., Boston College Management/CSOM

Jacob Burger, So., Clemson Marketing

Crawford Reeves, Fr., Clemson Business

Spencer Anderson, So., Duke Political Science

#Adam Long, Sr., Duke Sociology

Brinson Paolini, Fr., Duke Undeclared

Wes Roach, Jr., Duke Sociology

Julian Suri, Fr., Duke Undeclared

Alexander Andrews, Fr., Georgia Tech Management

Kyle Scott, Sr., Georgia Tech Management

$James White, So., Georgia Tech Management

!Chase McFarland, Sr., North Carolina Business Administration

##Henry Zaytoun, Jr., North Carolina History

Mark McMillen, So., NC State Management

Will Collins, Jr., Virginia Kinesiology

%Aaron Eckstein, Jr., Virginia Tech Finance

Evan Beck, Fr., Wake Forest Undeclared

$Lee Bedford, So., Wake Forest Finance

#Brendan Gielow, Sr., Wake Forest Religion

$ Repeat honoree (2009)

# Repeat honoree (2007-08-09)

## Repeat honoree (2008, 2009)

! Repeat honoree (2006 & 2008, 2009)

% Repeat honoree (2008)

ACC Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest

For updates on Virginia Tech golf, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_MGolf).

HokieSports Shop