July 21, 2010
Bailey, Moyers earn All-State honors
Hokie duo named to second team

NORFOLK, Va. – Virginia Tech golfers Marshall Bailey and Mikey Moyers have been selected to the 2010 Virginia State Golf Coaches Association All-State team. The Hokies were selected to the second team.

Moyers, a freshman from Stanardsville, Virginia, led the Hokies in stroke average this season, at 73.06. He finished second individually at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate by Gatorade, leading the Hokies to a team title in the event. He had four top 20 finishes, including two top 5 finishes in his freshman season.

Bailey, a junior from Fincastle, Virginia, was second on the team in stroke average, at 73.17. He finished tied for sixth at the NCAA Central Regional in Notre Dame, Indiana in May and advanced as a individual to the 2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship at the Honors Course in Ooltewah, Tennessee. He had three top 20 finishes, including two top 10 finishes in his junior year. Bailey was also a second-team selection in 2009.



Ben Kohles (Virginia)

Robert Karlsson (Liberty)

Will Collins (Virginia)

Eric Onesi (ODU)

Lanto Griffin (VCU)


Mikey Moyers (Virginia Tech)

Marshall Bailey (Virginia Tech)

Max McKay (Liberty)

Kyle Stough (Virginia)

Vincent Nadeau (VCU)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Bowen Sargent (Virginia)

For updates on Virginia Tech golf, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_MGolf).

HokieSports Shop