Three Hokies Earn All-South Atlantic Region Honors
Jonmaire, Mertins and Rogge selected to the third team
December 2, 2002

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Three Virginia Tech men's soccer players were named to the NSCAA All-South Atlantic Regional Team, as released Monday afternoon. Forward Ken Jonmaire and midfielders Lasse Mertins and Peer Rogge all earned third-team all-region accolades.

Jonmaire, a redshirt sophomore from East Aurora, N.Y., was the Hokies' leading scorer in only his second season. His 22 points (eight goals, six assists) tied him for 17th place in the South Atlantic region and ranked third in the BIG EAST Conference during the regular season. Jonmaire was also tied for 15th in the region for goals scored. Four of his eight goals were game-winners, tying him for fourth place in the BIG EAST in that category. Jonmaire was a three-time BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Week in 2002, sharing the honor twice, and was also named to the Soccer America Men's Team of the Week (Oct. 13).

Mertins made an immediate impact in his first year for the Hokies. The junior from Rotenburg, Germany, was both the anchor of the Tech defense and a potent offensive weapon. While on defense, Mertins helped the Hokies post four shutouts and a 1.29 GAA. He also tied for third on the team in goals scored (five), including the game-winner over Georgetown. He was twice named BIG EAST Co-Rookie of the Week in 2002 and was selected to the National Team of the Week (Sept. 22).

Rogge, a native of Schleswig, Germany, also starred in the midfield for the Hokies as a freshman. He led the team in assists with eight and tied for second in points scored with 16. Rogge's assist total tied him for seventh in the South Atlantic region and was third-best in the BIG EAST. He earned conference Rookie of the Week honors on Oct. 14 and was named to the National Team of the Week the same week.

The Hokies finished the season 10-7-1 overall and ended the regular season tied for seventh in the BIG EAST with a 5-5 conference record in head coach Oliver Weiss' first year at the helm.