Tech Celebrates Student-Athletes
Hokies hosted annual All-Sports Banquet Monday night
May 2, 2006

Images and Video Photo Gallery
All-Sports Highlight Video
BLACKSBURG, Va. - Over 100 awards were presented to Virginia Tech student-athletes and support group team members Monday night as the Tech athletics department hosted the annual All-Sports Banquet at the Squires Student Center.

Each sport team recognized a Rookie of the Year, a Coaches Award winner and a Most Valuable Performer. Additional recognition was given by the strength and conditioning staff to each team, while the athletics department also honored its All-Academic Team.

The Hokies had seven Scholar Athletes of the Year, who all maintained perfect academic records for the calendar year of 2005, they are: James Anderson (football), Magnus Einarsson (men's soccer), Gunild Kreb (women's track and field), Melissa Markowski (volleyball), Danny McGrath (football), Lindsay Pieper (lacrosse) and Megan Puckett (HighTechs).

The Athletics Office of Student Life also recognized the Top Six for Service Awards for 2005-06. These individuals were tireless in their support of community service initiatives: David Atkiss (cross country and track & field), Anat Elazari (women's tennis), Rosemary Patterson (lacrosse), Cory Price (football), Mallory Soldner (women's soccer), Grant Throckmorton (football).