Nyarko on Hermann Trophy Preseason Watch List
First-ever Hokie named to the list
August 8, 2007

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Virginia Tech junior forward Patrick Nyarko was one of 29 players named to the 2007 preseason watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced today. Nyarko is the first Hokie to ever be on the watch list for the most prestigious individual honor in men's intercollegiate soccer.

Nyarko, a native of Kumasi, Ghana, is already 10th on the school's all-time career goals list (24) and has 14 career assists, which falls just two shy of tying for ninth place.

Nyarko was selected to the NSCAA/adidas All-South Atlantic Team last season and is a two-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference First-Team member. He established a new school record and led the ACC with 16 goals in 2006, while finishing second in the conference with 2.00 points and 0.80 goals per game.

"We are very excited to have our first Hermann Trophy Watch List candidate," head coach Oliver Weiss said. "It is very well deserved for Patrick, based on his contribution to Tech soccer over the past two seasons. We wish him all the best and hope he has a year worthy of the honor."

Players are selected to the watch list by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on January 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised news conference that evening.

Tech opens its 2007 season with an exhibition match against High Point at 7 p.m. on Aug. 25 at Tech Soccer Stadium. The Hokies begin their regular season at the VCU Nike/Alltel Classic against Virginia Commonwealth at 8 p.m. on Aug. 31 in Richmond, Va.
2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List
As selected by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America
GKMatt AllenSr.CreightonOmaha, Neb.
MEric AvilaJr.UCSBEncinitas, Calif.
DRhett BernsteinJr.BrownSan Diego, Calif.
DEric BrunnerSr.Ohio StateDublin, Ohio
FByron DacyJr.CreightonOmaha, Neb.
FPatrick FigueiredoJr.AdelphiCompinas, Brazil
FKevin ForestSr.WashingtonEdmonds, Wash.
FJuan GavariaSr.St. Peter'sElizabeth, N.J.
MTom GraySr.MonmouthMiddletown, N.J.
MBruno GuardaJr.SMUPiracicaba, Brazil
DDavid HorstSr.Old DominionPine Grove, Pa.
DAndy IroSr.UCSBLiverpool, England
FSaidi IsaacSr.WinthropEldoret, Kenya
MDejan JakovicJr.UABEtobicoke, Ontario
DJulius JamesSr.ConnecticutMaloney Gardens, Trinidad
FGeorge JostenSr.GonzagaIdaho Falls, Idaho
MStephen KingSr.MarylandMedford, N.J.
FJoseph LapiraSr.Notre DameLake Charles, La.
MPeter LowrySr.Santa ClaraFair Oaks, Calif.
MTravis MacKenzieSr.DuquesneCarnegie, Pa.
MRyan MaduroSr.ProvidenceBristol, R.I.
FPatrick NyarkoJr.Virginia TechKumasi, Ghana
FYannick ReyeringJr.VirginiaMettingen, Germany
MDavid RothSr.NorthwesternSt. Louis, Mo.
DAndre SherardSr.North CarolinaGreenville, N.C.
MEric SweetinJr.Saint LouisKansas City, Mo.
DJulian ValentinSr.Wake ForestLancaster, Pa.
DRob ValentinoSr.San FranciscoCave Creek, Ariz.
MMichael VideiraSr.DukeMilford, Mass.