Nyarko named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist
Junior forward selected as one of top 15 players in the country
November 28, 2007

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Tech junior foward Patrick Nyarko is among the 15 semifinalists for the 2007 MAC Hermann Trophy, the Missouri Athletic Club and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced Wednesday.

Nyarko is a three-time first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection who has 18 points this season off five goals and eight assists. The Kumasi, Ghana native has 29 career goals, which ranks sixth on the Virginia Tech career list. His 22 career assists is fourth in school history. He has also posted three-point games twice this season, at Tulsa and against Maryland.

Three finalists will be announced on Dec. 14, in conjunction with the semifinal rounds of the 2007 NCAA Men's College Cup. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., on Friday, Jan. 11, where they will be presented the prestigious crystal soccer ball that has come to symbolize the highest level of individual achievement in intercollegiate soccer.

An exhibition featuring the current and past winners of the MAC Hermann Trophy is on display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y.

The eleventh-seeded Virginia Tech men's soccer team is 11-3-5 this season and will open NCAA Tournament play in the second round with a 7 p.m. match tonight against California at Tech Soccer Stadium.

Tickets to the second-round match cost $10 for the adult general public, and $5 for students and children. Everyone in attendance will need to purchase a ticket. Walk-up sales at the Tech Soccer Stadium gate will be available 90 minutes before kickoff.

Jerry Massey will have the audio-only play-by-play call on WWBU SuperTalk 101.7 FM and hokiesports.com.

2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Men's Semifinalists

Andre Akpan, F, So., Harvard, Grand Prairie, Texas
Alejandro Bedoya, M, Jr., Boston College, Weston, Fla.
Mike Grella, F, Jr., Duke, Glen Cove, N.Y.
Bruno Guarda, M, Jr., SMU, Piracicaba, Brazil
Andy Iro, D, Sr., UC Santa Barbara, Liverpool, England
Julius James, D, Sr., Connecticut, Maloney Gardens, Trinidad
Stephen King, M, Sr., Maryland, Medford, N.J.
Joseph Lapira, F, Sr., Notre Dame, Lake Charles, La.
Peter Lowry, M, Sr., Santa Clara, Fair Oaks, Calif.
Patrick Nyarko, F, Jr., Virginia Tech, Kumasi, Ghana
Yannick Reyering, F, Jr., Virginia, Mettingen, Germany
Brad Ring, M, Jr., Indiana, Rockford, Ill.
Julian Valentin, D, Sr., Wake Forest, Lancaster, Pa.
Michael Videira, M, Sr., Duke, Milford, Mass.
O'Brian White, F, Jr., Connecticut, Scarborough, Ont.