Mississippi Defeats Virginia Tech, 4-0, in NCAA First Round
Hokies finish season 15-14
May 13, 2000

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Ole Miss won the doubles point and the Nos. 1,2 and 5 singles matches, posting a 4-0 victory over Virginia Tech in the second match of the first round of the 2000 NCAA Men's Tennis Championships at the Burrows-Burleson Tennis Center on Saturday afternoon.

Mississippi won both No. 1 and No. 2 doubles, capturing the doubles point and taking the early 1-0 lead. Ole Miss' first team of James Shortall and Vikrant Chadha, ranked No. 18 in the nation, defeated Tech's Davor Dupljak and Saber Kadiri, 8-2, and Kristofer Stahlberg and Martin Selin teamed up to defeat the Hokies' No. 2 doubles team of Gerard Baynham and Andrew Vu, 8-6. Tech's No. 3 doubles team of Jay Bruner and Eddie Terzimehic were winning 7-5 when the match was stopped.

In the singles competition, Ole Miss' Alexander Hartman defeated Tech's Gerard Baynham, 6-0, 6-4, at No. 2 singles, extending its lead to 2-0. At No. 5 singles, Mississippi's Martin Selin defeated Tech's Eddie Terzimehic, 6-3, 6-1, pushing the lead to a 3-0 advantage.

The No. 1 singles match between Ole Miss' Shortall, No. 59 in the nation, and Tech's Dupljak was the deciding match. Shortall won the first set, 6-2, and then won the tiebreaker in the second set, 7-2, pulling off the 7-6 win and giving the Rebels the 4-0 victory.

The No. 3 battle between Tech's Michael Kurz and Ole Miss' Vikrant Chadha did not finish but was tied at 1-1 (6-3, 4-6) and was 1-0 in Tech's favor in the third set. The No. 4 singles match between Tech's Bruner and Mississippi's Stahlberg also did not finish but was tied in the second set. Bruner won the first set, 6-4, and the second was tied at 5-5 when the match was stopped. Tech's Kadiri and Ole Miss' Stenman, No. 86 in the nation, didn't finish at No. 6 singles. Kadiri won the first set, 7-5, but was down 3-5 in the second set when it ended.

Virginia Tech ends its season at 15-14, while Mississippi (19-5) advances to play Virginia Commonwealth in the second round on Sunday, May 14, at noon, at the Burrows-Burleson Tennis Center.