February 13, 2012
Three Virginia Tech student-athletes receive ACC postgraduate scholarship
Around The

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced today a list of 36 student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, including three student-athletes who will receive the Thacker Award. Additionally, six student-athletes who plan to enter a professional career in their chosen sport were named honorary recipients. Receiving the honor for Tech are men's tennis player Corrado Degl' Incerti Tocci, women's tennis player Martha Blakely and men's swimming athlete Blake Trabuchi-Downey.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes - three from each league institution - who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, six student-athletes will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award. Two men's basketball players - Clemson's Tanner Smith and North Carolina's Tyler Zeller - along with Duke football player Matt Daniels, Georgia Tech golfer James White, NC State baseball player Phillip Williams, and Virginia women's tennis player Lindsey Hardenbergh will be recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performance and intend to compete at the professional level.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner of September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC's first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.

The 42 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 11, 2012, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro Hotel at the Four Seasons.

2012 Weaver-James-Corrigan Award Recipients

Katarina Gajic Boston College W-Tennis Major - Economics; Minor - Film Studies Toronto, Ontario
Brian Like Boston College M-Fencing Biology Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich.
Kevin Melnick Boston College M-Golf Biology Blue Bell, Pa.
Becca Brown Clemson Rowing Bioengineering Greenville, SC
Alyssa Kulik Clemson W-Cross Country Modern Languages/Psychology Simpsonville, SC
Dawson Zimmerman Clemson Football Major - English; Minor - Creative Writing Lawrenceville, GA
Sophia Dunworth Duke Volleyball Major - Biology; Minor - Chemistry Pleasanton, Calif.
Rory Erickson-Kulas Duke Rowing Major - Public Policy; Minor - History & Economics Naugatuck, Conn.
Becca Ward Duke W-Fencing Public Policy Portland, Ore.
Deividas Dulkys Florida State M-Basketball Management Silute, Lithuania
Katie Rybakova Florida State W-Tennis English Education Coral Springs, Fla.
Kimberly Williams Florida State W-Track & Field Sport Management Kingston, Jamaica
Heidi Hatteberg (Thacker Award) Georgia Tech W-Swimming/Diving Aerospace Engineering Louisville, Ky.
Kate Kuzma Georgia Tech Softball Management/Marketing Sharpsburg, Ga.
Viet Ha Ngo Georgia Tech W-Tennis Economics & International Affairs Hanoi, Vietnam
Kyle John Maryland Wrestling Civil Engineering Coopersburg, Pa.
Corey Peltier Maryland Wrestling Elementary Education Exeter, R.I.
Shelby Reyes Maryland W-Water Polo Major - Psychology; Minor - Human Development Miami, Fla.
Ali Becker Miami Volleyball Elementary Education & Psychology Katy, Texas
John Calhoun Miami Football Major - Political Science; Minor - Sociology Micco, Fla.
Lane Carico Miami Volleyball Major - Exercise Physiology; Minor - Psychology Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Taylor Brown North Carolina Gymnastics Major - Psychology; Minor - Chemistry Durham, N.C.
Shinann Featherston North Carolina W-Tennis Major - Exercise & Sport Science and Political Science Rockaway Park, N.Y.
Blair Meiggs North Carolina Rowing Major - Exercise & Sport Science; Minor - Coaching Education Camden, N.C.
Tanya Cain (Thacker Award) NC State W-Soccer Accounting Pinebluff, N.C.
Akash Gujarati NC State M-Tennis Electrical Engineering Pune, India
Jess Panza NC State Gymnastics Business Administration New York, N.Y.
Kelly Flynn Virginia W-Swimming Biology Woodlands, Tex.
Rachel Jennings Virginia Field Hockey English Macungie, Pa.
Maggie Kistner Virginia W-Soccer Major - Psychology; Minor - Biology St. Louis, Mo.
Martha Blakely Virginia Tech W-Tennis Major - Biochemistry; Minor - Chemistry Reading, Pa.
Corrado Degl'lncerti Tocci Virginia Tech M-Tennis Major - Aerospace Engineering; Minor - Mathematics Reggio Emilia, Italy
Blake Trabuchi-Downey Virginia Tech M-Swimming Biological Sciences Vineland, N.J.
Faith Adams Wake Forest Field Hockey Major - Business & Enterprise Management; Minor - Spanish Great Falls, Va.
Sarah Brobeck (Thacker Award) Wake Forest W-Track & Field Chemistry Salem, Ohio
Michael Hoag Wake Forest Football Major - Communications; Minor - Entrepreneurship & Social Enterprise Journalism Knoxville, TN


Tanner Smith Clemson M-Basketball Marketing Alpharetta, GA
Matt Daniels Duke Football Public Policy Fayetteville, Ga.
James White Georgia Tech M-Golf Management Acworth, Ga.
Tyler Zeller North Carolina M-Basketball Business Administration Washington, Ind.
Vance Williams NC State Baseball Mechanical Engineering Cary, N.C.
Lindsey Hardenbergh Virginia W-Tennis Major - Spanish & English; Minor - Leadership Fairfax Station, Va.

For updates on Virginia Tech men's tennis, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_MTennis).

HokieSports Shop