May 1, 2014
Hokies place three on All-ACC teams
Contini, Bjerrehus and Monteiro earn league honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Amerigo Contini led a trio of Virginia Tech men’s tennis sophomores who were named to All-ACC Teams on Thursday afternoon, earning All-ACC First Team honors as announced by Commissioner John Swofford. Andreas Bjerrehus and Joao Monteiro were also recognized, being named to the Second Team and Third Team, respectively.

Contini, ranked 20th in the latest ITA standings, has had a strong sophomore outing with the Hokies after being named the ACC Freshman of the Year last season. Playing in the No. 1 singles for Tech throughout the dual season, Contini has tallied an 18-6 record including a 12-5 mark versus ranked opponents and an 8-4 record in the league. Contini picked up wins in his last two matches and has won seven of the last 10. Including fall tournaments, he is 25-9 overall on the season. In addition, Contini will make his second consecutive trip to the NCAA singles event.

Bjerrehus, ranked 92nd nationally by the ITA, has also had a standout second season, tallying a 14-10 record in duals, including an 11-9 mark in the No. 2. Bjerrehus is 5-5 versus ranked opponents and has tallied a 23-12 mark overall this season dating back to the fall. In addition, Bjerrehus is 25-11 in doubles, playing every match in the No. 1. He and Contini are ranked 46th in the ITA and the pair represented the Hokies at the ITA All-America and National Indoor Championships during the fall.

Monteiro has posted a 24-13 record overall this season, including a 16-7 record in duals. The Tech sophomore recorded an 8-5 mark in the No. 3 and went 4-3 in the No. 4. He has also claimed a pair of wins versus nationally ranked opponents.

This marks the first time that three Virginia Tech players have been recognized by the ACC in the same season. It is Contini and Bjerrehus’ second All-ACC recognition and the first for Monteiro.

The Hokies will be back on the court on Saturday, May 10 when they travel to Nashville, Tenn. to face Vanderbilt in the opening round of the 2014 NCAA Men’s Tennis Championship.

Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year – Alex Domijan, Virginia
Freshman of the Year – Brayden Schnur, North Carolina
Coach of the Year – Sam Paul, North Carolina

All-ACC First Team
Mitchell Frank # - Jr. Virginia
Greg Andrews - Sr. Notre Dame
Alex Domijan % - Sr. Virginia
Brayden Schnur - Fr. North Carolina
Amerigo Contini @ - So. Virginia Tech
Jason Tahir - Jr. Duke
Ronnie Schneider - Fr. North Carolina
Romain Bogaerts* - So. Wake Forest
Hunter Harrington*@ - Jr. Clemson
Fred Saba*@ - Sr. Duke

All-ACC Second Team
Dominique Maden - Sr. Clemson
Ryan Shane - So. Virginia
Austin Powell @ - Jr. NC State
Dominic Cotrone @ - Jr. Florida State
Brett Clark - So. North Carolina
Omar Aly - Sr. Miami
Andreas Bjerrehus @ - So. Virginia Tech
Nathan Rakitt - So. Georgia Tech
Robbie Mudge @ - Jr. NC State

All-ACC Third Team
Quentin Monaghan - So. Notre Dame
Mac Styslinger @ - So. Virginia
Adam Lee @ - Sr. Wake Forest
Bruno Semenzato - So. Duke
Joao Monteiro - So. Virginia Tech
Raphael Hemmeler - Jr. Duke
Thai-Son Kwiatkowski - Fr. Virginia
Cristian Gonzalez Mendez - Jr. Florida State
Maksim Kan* - Fr. Wake Forest
Ryan Bandy* - Sr. Notre Dame

* - Denotes a tie in voting
@ - Two-time selection
# - Three-time selection
% - Four-time selection

For updates on Virginia Tech men's tennis, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop