Babcock a finalist for Sports Business Journal AD of the Year Award

NEW YORK – Tech Director of Athletics Whit Babcock is one of five finalists for Athletic Director of the Year at the Sports Business Awards Ceremony, a night celebrating excellence in sports business. Winners will be announced live Wednesday evening at the event being held at the New York Marriott Marquis at Times Square.

Launched in 2008, the Sports Business Awards were established by SportsBusiness Journal and SportsBusiness Daily to celebrate and recognize the leaders, visionaries and day-to-day practitioners who personify excellence in sports.

Babcock is in his fourth year as Virginia Tech’s Director of Athletics after being formally announced as Tech’s AD on Jan. 24, 2014. With the Harrisonburg, Virginia native overseeing the Hokies athletics programs, Tech continued building momentum in 2016-17.

Virginia Tech recently claimed The Commonwealth Clash against the University of Virginia for the first time. The Hokies also claimed ACC team championships in wrestling (team and dual meet), women’s track and field (outdoor) and men’s track and field (indoor and outdoor). The football squad extended the longest active bowl streak in the nation to 24 straight seasons, while the men’s and women’s basketball programs both reached the 20-win plateau in the same season for the first time since 1994-95. Also, Tech’s men’s soccer squad advanced to the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament.

The Hokies also are excelling academically. Tech had three student-athletes named ACC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective sports – Hanna Green (women’s indoor track), Torben Laidig (men’s indoor track) and Jared Haught (wrestling). At the conclusion of the spring semester, 285 student-athletes – more than half of those on team rosters – held a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better. The cumulative grade-point average of Virginia Tech’s student-athletes overall is 3.03, and 16 teams maintain a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average or better.

In addition, under Babcock’s leadership, the Hokie Club has achieved an all-time record of more than 13,000 members, while overall giving set a record by approaching $33 million based on the most recent benefit giving cycle that concluded March 31.

2017 Sports Business Journal Awards

Athletic Director of the Year Finalists
Whit Babcock, Virginia Tech
Chris Del Conte, TCU
Dan Guerrero, UCLA
Jay Jacobs, Auburn University
Dan Radakovich, Clemson University

Previous Winners

2016 — Gene Smith, Ohio State University

2015 — Jeff Long, University of Arkansas

2014 — Kevin White, Duke University

2013 — Mal Moore, University of Arkansas

2012 — Mark Hollis, Michigan State University

2011 — DeLoss Dodds, University of Texas

2010 — Gene Smith, Ohio State University

2009 — Joe Castiglione, University of Oklahoma

2008 — Ron Wellman, Wake Forest University

For updates on Virginia Tech Athletics, follow the Hokies on Twitter