Ota, Rhodes named to All-ACC Academic Softball Team
Georgia Tech's Haller named Scholar-Athlete of the Year
August 6, 2009

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Former Virginia Tech softball players Erin Ota and Jenna Rhodes were named to the 30-member All-ACC Academic Team, ass announced Thursday by the conference office. Georgia Tech senior Whitney Haller was named the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Haller, an industrial engineering major from Marietta, Ga., was also a first-team CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American in 2009 and has been an ACC Academic Honor Roll recipient every year of her collegiate career (2005-2009). Additionally, Haller has been honored in the past with two other CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-Americas.

Haller turned in a career year on the diamond in 2009 as she was tabbed All-America by Easton and was a member of the Lowe’s Senior All-American first-team. She finished in the Top-10 statistical rankings in nine offensive categories, including a conference-leading 55 runs batted-in. She is a four-time All-ACC Academic honoree and became the second Georgia Tech softball player to earn All-ACC accolades four times.

Rhodes was a second-team Academic All-American and a third-team All-American after hitting .474 with 49 stolen bases. She is currently playing for the Rockford Thunder of the NPF. Ota was a four-year starter and batted .272 her final year.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as earned a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Haller was joined by five of her Yellow Jacket teammates on the All-ACC Academic Softball team as Georgia Tech and Florida State led with six selections apiece. Virginia followed with five picks and North Carolina placed four student-athletes on the team. Boston College landed three players, while Maryland, NC State, and Virginia Tech each had two apiece. All eight ACC softball teams were represented on the 30-member team.

Eleven members of the All-ACC Academic Softball team, including Haller, were also tabbed All-ACC in 2009, and four individuals have made multiple All-ACC teams. A total of 13 players earned All-ACC Academic accolades for the second consecutive season, six for the third consecutive season. Only Haller and teammate Blair Shimandle were four-time honorees.

To be considered for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 for the most recent semester and for their careers.

Name School Class Major
Irene Delagrammaticas % Boston College So. Nursing
Morgan Kidd Boston College Fr. Finance
Danielle Weir Boston College So. Communications
Terese Gober %! Florida State Jr. Sport Management
Sarah Hamilton ! Florida State So. Business-Marketing
Kristie McConn Florida State So. Business-Marketing
Kaleigh Rafter ! Florida State Sr. Criminology
Michelle Snyder Florida State Sr. Sport Management
Carly Wynn ^@! Florida State Jr. Psychology
Shannon Bear Georgia Tech Fr. Biochemistry
Whitney Haller &!$ Georgia Tech Sr. Industrial Engineering
Christy Jones % Georgia Tech So. Mechanical Engineering
Blair Shimandle &! Georgia Tech Sr. International Affairs
Kelsi Weseman ! Georgia Tech Fr. Mechanical Engineering
Jennifer Yee %! Georgia Tech Jr. Materials Science & Engineering
Christina Lau Maryland Jr. Kinesiology
Devon Williams % Maryland Sr. Marketing
Breanna Brown ^!# North Carolina Sr. Communication Studies/Psychology
Brittany McKinney ! North Carolina So. Communication Studies
Anna Roberts North Carolina Jr. Business Administration
Emily Troup % North Carolina Sr. Exercise and Sport Science/Psychology
Bridget Desbois NC State So. Biological Sciences
Allison Presnell ^ NC State Jr. Biomedical Engineering
Alison Pittman Virginia So. Undeclared
Casey Steffan Virginia Sr. Government
Sarah Tacke Virginia Sr. Biology
Karla Wilburn % Virginia Sr. Education
Carly Winger Virginia Sr. Foreign Affairs
Erin Ota ^ Virginia Tech Sr. Architecture
Jenna Rhodes ^!@ Virginia Tech Sr. Sociology
2009 ACC Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Whitney Haller, Georgia Tech
&Four-time All-ACC Academic honoree
^Three-time All-ACC Academic honoree
%Two-time All-ACC Academic honoree
!2009 All-ACC
$Four-time All-ACC
#Three-time All-ACC
@Two-time All-ACC