June 22, 2012
Tech dominates all-state awards in softball
Thomas, Harrell, Gaskill all earn top awards

BLACKSBURG - The Virginia Tech softball team was recognized for its outstanding season by the state’s sports information directors, as several were named to the VaSID University Division All-State Squad on Friday. Head coach Scot Thomas earned his record sixth coach of the year nod in unanimous fashion while junior pitcher Jasmin Harrell was named pitcher of the year and freshman Lauren Gaskill was named the state’s top rookie.

Harrell becomes just the second Tech pitcher to earn the state’s pitcher of the year honors, joining three-time winner Angela Tincher (2006-08). Gaskil is the third Tech freshman to win the rookie award, joining Jessica Everhart (2006) and Dani Anderson (2011).

Junior Courtney Liddle was a uninamous first-team selection at first base and freshman Kelsey Mericka made the first team at third base. They were joined by Harrell and Gaskill (unanimous) on the first team. Freshman Kylie McGoldrick was named to the second team. Liddle also made the first team last season.

Thomas has now had 27 different players named to the all-state team 55 different times, including at least three on every team in 12 of the last 14 seasons.

Tech led the way with four first-team selections after posting a 42-21 record on the year and advancing to the finals of the NCAA Regionals. The Hokies went 8-1 against in-state competition and were the only school in the Commonwealth to earn an NCAA bid.

2012 VaSID Softball University Division All-State Team

Coach of the Year: Scot Thomas, Virginia Tech *
Pitcher of the Year: Jasmin Harrell, Virginia Tech
Player of the Year: Nichole Beall, Radford
Rookie of the Year: Lauren Gaskill, Virginia Tech

First Team
C: Megan Baltzell, Longwood
1B: Courtney Liddle, Virginia Tech *

2B: Erica Cipolloni, Virginia
SS: Nichole Beall, Radford
3B: Kelsey Mericka, Virginia Tech
OF: Lauren Gaskill, Virginia Tech *

OF: Giannina Cipolloni, Virginia
OF: Haley Ward, Norfolk State
U/DP: Sarah Mooney, James Madison
P: Jasmin Harrell, Virginia Tech
P: Melanie Mitchell, Virginia

Second Team
C: Kelby Allen, Liberty
1B: Haley Johnson, James Madison
2B: Kylie McGoldrick, Virginia Tech
SS: Ashley Burnham, James Madison
3B: Caitlin Sandy, James Madison
OF: Morgan Heath, James Madison
OF: Meredith Crisante, Liberty
OF: Katie Zavodny, Liberty
U/DP: Brooke Short, Longwood
P: Jackie Jenkins, Radford
P: Heather Kiefer, James Madison

* - Denotes Unanimous Selection

For updates on Virginia Tech softball, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Softball).

HokieSports Shop