June 26, 2012
2012 All-ACC Academic Softball Team Announced
Tech ties for conference high with six honorees

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Six Virginia Tech student-athletes were honored Tuesday for their work in the classroom as they were named to the 2012 All-ACC Academic Softball Team. North Carolina’s Kelli Wheeler was recognized as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Making the squad for the Hokies were, in alphabetical order: Dani Anderson, Courtney Liddle, Kelsey Mericka, Kylie McGoldrick, Betty Rose and Bkaye Smith.

Boston College’s Irene Delagrammaticas earned her fourth-career conference academic honor. Georgia Tech’s Kate Kuzma, Kelsi Weseman, and Shannon Bear, North Carolina’s Wheeler, Virginia’s Taylor Williams and Tech’s Courtney Liddle garnered their third accolade.

All eight ACC schools that sponsor softball are represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team. Georgia Tech and Virginia Tech led with six players, while Boston College and Florida State placed five on the team. Three players were honored from Maryland, North Carolina, and NC State, and two Virginia players were recognized.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

For the full release and team, click here.

For updates on Virginia Tech softball, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Softball).

HokieSports Shop