May 8, 2014
    Three Hokies named All-ACC
    Gaskill named second team, McGoldrick, Smith named to third team

    COLLEGE PARK, Md. - A trio of Virginia Tech softball players were honored for their play this year, being named all-conference Thursday morning. Juniors Lauren Gaskill (second team) and Kylie McGoldrick (third team) and sophomore Katey Smith (third team) were all named to the All-ACC team, as voted on by the coaches.

    In a change from previous years, only conference statistics were weighed when voting.

    Gaskill, a shortstop from Mt. Holly, N.J., led the Hokies in ACC play with a .352 average. She also had six doubles, four home runs and 14 RBIs to go along with nine stolen bases on conference play. It’s the second all-conference honor for Gaskill as she made the second team in 2012.

    McGoldrick, a second baseman from Stratford, N.J., was second in batting average in conference play with a .341 average. She also had nine doubles, three home runs and 12 RBIs in Tech’s 28 ACC contests. She was also a first team selection last year.

    Smith, from Falmouth, Va., earned her first all-conference honor after hitting .322 with six doubles, five home runs and a team-leading 25 RBIs in conference play.

    Tech, the No. 3 seed in the ACC Championship, will play sixth-seeded Syracuse Thursday night at 7:30 p.m. in the first round. The game will be played at Maryland Softball Stadium here in College Park. It can be seen on the ACC’s regional sports networks and on ESPN3, an online-only broadcast, outside the ACC footprint. Danny Nokes will have an audio-only call on HokiesXtra, which is free through the app.

    Florida State’s Maddie O’Brien was named the ACC Player of the Year, while the Seminoles’ Lacey Waldrop and Lonni Alameda were named Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Notre Dame’s Karley Wester was tabbed the ACC Freshman of the Year.

    Ten schools were represented on the 2014 All-ACC Teams, led by Florida State with six representatives and Notre Dame with five. Virginia Tech, North Carolina, Boston College and Syracuse had three, while Georgia Tech, NC State and Pitt each had two. Maryland rounded out the field with one representative. You can read the full ACC release here.

    Individual Award Winners
    Player of the Year – Maddie O’Brien, Florida State
    Pitcher of the Year –Lacey Waldrop, Florida State
    Freshman of the Year – Karley Wester, Notre Dame
    Coach of the Year – Lonni Alameda, Florida State

    All-ACC First Team
    Lacey Waldrop, Jr., P, Florida State
    Maddie O’Brien, Jr., SS, Florida State
    Karley Wester, Fr., OF, Notre Dame
    Micaela Arizmendi, So., 1B Notre Dame
    Courtney Senas, Sr., OF, Florida State
    Kristen Brown, So., SS, North Carolina
    Emily Weiman, Jr., P, NC State
    Laura Winter, Sr., P, Notre Dame
    Sydney O’Hara, Fr., P, Syracuse
    Maddie Lionberger, So., 2B, Georgia Tech

    All-ACC Second Team
    Ashley Thomas, Sr., SS, Georgia Tech
    Jessica Burroughs, Fr., P, Florida State
    Emilee Koerner, Jr., OF, Notre Dame
    Renada Davis, Jr., SS, NC State
    Candice Beards, Sr., 1B, Maryland
    Jenna Kelly, So., 1B, North Carolina
    Lauren Gaskill, Jr., SS, Virginia Tech
    Aquilla Mateen, So., OF, North Carolina
    Tory Speer, Sr., C, Boston College
    Carly Thea, Jr., OF, Pitt

    All-ACC Third Team
    Jasmine Watson, Sr., 1B, Syracuse
    Victoria East, So., 1B, Florida State
    Cassidy Whidden, Jr., C, Notre Dame
    Shirley Daniels, Sr., OF, Syracuse
    Tori Nirschl, So., OF, Pitt
    Kylie McGoldrick, Jr., 2B, Virginia Tech
    Nicole D’Argento, Sr., P, Boston College
    Megan Cooley, So., OF, Boston College
    Briana Hamilton, Sr., 3B, Florida State
    Katey Smith, So., C, Virginia Tech

    For updates on Virginia Tech softball, follow the Hokies on Twitter

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    • Men's Soccer - 6 PM
      Thompson Field
      (23) Virginia Tech

    • Volleyball - 7 PM
      Cassell Coliseum
      North Carolina
      Virginia Tech

    © 2016,