June 11, 2014
Six Hokies named to VaSID All-State Softball University Division Team
Gonzalez, McGoldrick earn first-team honors

BLACKSBURG – Six Virginia Tech softball players were named to the VaSID All-State Softball University Division Team, as announced Wednesday. James Madison took home three of four major awards, while Longwood’s Megan Baltzell was named the Commonwealth’s top overall player, as announced by the Virginia Sports Information Directors earlier today. All-American Jailyn Ford was named the pitcher of the year, Mickey Dean repeated as coach of the year and freshman Niki Prince was named the rookie of the year.

For the Hokies, placing six on the two squads marks the most since they put seven on the 2006 team. Freshman Vanessa Gonzalez (OF) and junior Kylie McGoldrick (2B) were both named to the first team while senior Amanda Ake (OF), junior Lauren Gaskill (SS), sophomore Katey Smith (C) and junior Logan Spaw (U/DP) were named to the second team.

For McGoldrick, it is her third all-state honor and the second year in a row she’s been named a first-team selection. She was a second-team choice as a freshman. She led the team with a .345 average and hit eight home runs. Gonzalez made the first team after a strong rookie campaign that saw he hit .341 with eight home runs and a team-high 13 doubles and 31 walks.

For Gaskill, it’s her third all-state honor, as well. She was named a first-team selection each of her first two years as an outfielder. For both Gonzalz, Ake, Smith and Spaw, it’s their first time making the all-state team.

McGoldrick and Gaskill become the 10th and 11th players in Tech softball history to earn all-state honors three times in their careers. Both have a chance to join an exclusive club next year as four-time honorees from Tech, a club occupied by only Angela Tincher and Ashlee Dobbe.

With four new players earning honors this season, Virginia Tech head coach Scot Thomas has now had 35 different players named to the all-state team 68 different times in 18 seasons, including at least three on each of the last nine teams.

Eigth total programs had players earn all-state accolades, led by Virginia Tech and James Madison’s - the two state schools to make the NCAA Tournament - six selections, followed by Norfolk State, which had four all-state team members and Longwood’s three all-state selections. George Mason, Liberty and Hampton each placed two players on the all-state teams, while Radford grabbed the final all-state selection.

2014 VaSID All-State University Division Softball Team
First Team

C - Megan Baltzell, Jr., Longwood
1B – Kayla McNair, Fr., Norfolk State
2B - Kylie McGoldrick, Jr., Virginia Tech
SS – Caitlin Sandy, Sr., James Madison
3B – Brooke Blankenship, Jr., George Mason
OF – Morgan Boyd, Sr., Norfolk State
OF – Tiffany Webb, Sr., George Mason
OF – Vanessa Gonzalez, Fr., Virginia Tech
OF – Katie Zavodny, Sr., Liberty
UT/DP – Jessie Hutchens, Sr., Radford
P - Jailyn Ford, So., James Madison
P - Heather Kiefer, Jr., James Madison
P – Elizabeth McCarthy, Fr., Longwood

Second Team
C – Katey Smith, R-So., Virginia Tech

1B – Cassidy Clayton, Sr., James Madison
1B – Hanna Nichols, Jr., Liberty
2B – Danielle Budden, Fr., Hampton
SS – Lauren Gaskill, Jr., Virginia Tech
3B - Whitney Williams, So., Norfolk State
OF – Amanda Ake, Sr., Virginia Tech
OF – Taylor Newton, Fr., James Madison
OF – Niki Prince, Fr., James Madison
UT/DP – Logan Spaw, Jr., Virginia Tech
P – Jailynn Jackson, Jr., Hampton
P – Libby Morris, Jr., Longwood
P – Jamie Schulle, Sr., Norfolk State

VaSID Player of the Year – Megan Baltzell, Jr., Longwood
VaSID Pitcher of the Year - Jailyn Ford, So., James Madison
VaSID Coach of the Year - Mickey Dean, James Madison
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Niki Prince, Fr., James Madison

For updates on Virginia Tech softball, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop