March 2, 2013
H2Okies take second place at the 2013 Men's ACC Championships
Tech repeats last's year program best finish
Men's ACC Championships
Virginia Tech

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Virginia Tech swimming and diving program competed the 2013 ACC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships with a silver medal for the second-straight year Saturday evening at the Greensboro Aquatic Center. Tech finished with 14 NCAA B standard times, three medals and two school records on the final day.

Throughout the entire Championships the H2Okies finishes with 12 All-ACC honors, including three tonight.

The 200 butterfly secured the team's finish as it brought in a total of 42 points for the H2Okies in the fourth event of the night. Morgan Latimer led the pack as he picked up the silver medal in his first ACC Championships of his career. The sophomore set the school record in the preliminaries this morning and raced out to shave .11 seconds off in the finals to reset the record book again with a time of 1:43.85.

Gregory Mahon also swam in the championship final and placed sixth to pick up 13 points for Tech with a B cut time of 1:45.21. In the consolation heat, Nick Tremols and Lucas Bureau placed 10th and 12th, respectively, to complete the event.

The 200 backstroke and 200 breaststrokes pulled in over 30 points each tonight. Zach McGinnis took the bronze with a time of 1:42.34 to reset the Tech record book in the 200 backstroke. Collin Higgins and Tom Sheranek also picked up points in the event with seventh and 14th place finishes, respectively.

After setting a school record this morning with a time of 1:57.66, Harrison Cefalo took fifth in the 200 breaststroke, while Owen Burns followed in eighth with a B cut time of 1:59.00. Emmett Dignan picked up a ninth-place finish with a B cut time of 1:58.16 to help pull in an overall 34 points.

Freshman Michal Szuba won his second bronze medal of the Championships as he shattered the school record by 15 seconds in the 1650 freestyle. He took a time of 15.00.14 set his second school record of his young career.

Freshman Joe Bonk was the lone H2Okie to compete in the 100 freestyle. He took a seventh-place time of 43.93 to earn a NCAA B standard and 12 points for Tech.

The night concluded with the 400 freestyle relay. Unfortunately the quartet of McGinnis, Bonk, Dignan and Burns were disqualified on judges' decisions. The team would have placed third with a time of 2:54.48.

The University of Virginia won its sixth-straight ACC Championship as it tallied 759.5 points. North Carolina took third place with 549 points, while Florida State took fourth with 534. NC State placed fifth with a total of 481 and Georgia Tech took sixth with 269.5. Duke, Boston College and Miami rounded out the pack, respectively.

The H2Okies will be back in action as they host the 2013 NCAA Zone A Diving Championships at the Christiansburg Aquatic Center starting Friday, March 15.

For updates on Virginia Tech swimming & diving, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_SwimDive).

HokieSports Shop