NCAA Indoor Championships participants selected

NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Track and Field and Cross Country Committee has announced the participants that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championships, with eight individuals in the distance and pole vault events and two distance medley relays from the Virginia Tech track and field teams making the cut.

The championships will be held March 9-10 in College Station, Texas, as Texas A&M plays host. ESPN3 will stream the meet live starting at 6:30 p.m. ET March 9 and starting at 5 p.m. ET March 10. A re-air of the championship will take place starting at 7 p.m. ET Sunday, March 11 on ESPN2.

On the women’s side, Rachel Pocratsky will run the 800 meters, while Rachel Baxter and Lisa Gunnarsson will jump in the pole vault. Pocratsky comes in with the fourth-fastest time in the country, Baxter with the 11th-best vault and Gunnarsson with the fifth best nationally.

Distance runners Vincent Ciattei, who earned the ACC Postgraduate Scholarship earlier this week, Neil Gourley and Patrick Joseph, and pole vaulters Torben Laidig and Deakin Volz will make the trek to the Lone Star State.

The DMRs last weekend won gold at the ACC Indoor Championships on the campus of Clemson. The women, made up of Pocratsky, Arlicia Bush, Shannon Quinn and Sarah Edwards, ran a school-record time of 10:57.60, while the men, consisting of Daniel Jaskowak, Brandon Thomas, Thierry Siewe Yanga and Gourley, clocked a time of 9:38.31.

The complete list of participants is available here.

For updates on Virginia Tech track & field, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop