December 4, 2013
    Hamsher, Caine and Owens earn All-ACC honors
    Around The

    GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech volleyball player Victoria Hamsher was named First Team All-ACC while junior Kathryn Caine was tabbed third team and Lindsey Owens earned All-Freshman honors as announced on Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

    "Congratulations to Tori, Kathryn and Lindsey,” said Head Coach Chris Riley. “We are very proud of their accomplishments this season and humbled that the other ACC coaches thought them worthy of these awards."

    Hamsher recorded an attack percentage of .405 on the season to lead the ACC and rank 21st in the NCAA. The mark places her first in Tech’s single season records. In addition, the senior middle blocker averaged 2.66 kills per set, tallied 21 aces and 73 blocks. Hamsher recorded double-digit kills 18 times this season, including a career-high 19 versus Florida State.

    Caine knocked down 2.47 kps for the Hokies this season while hitting .339 on the attack to place fifth in the ACC. She hit double-digit kills in 13 matches and had a high 17 kills at Virginia. The junior middle blocker/right side was second on the team in blocks with 78 this season.

    Owens had a standout freshman campaign and entered in to the Tech record book in several categories. The outside hitter led the team in kills per set with 2.85 and is fifth in the freshman annals in both kills (311) and kps. Owens led the league and was 27th in the NCAA in aces, tallying 44 this season to finish third on the Tech freshman list. In addition, Owens was strong on the defensive side and finished second on the team in digs, recording 282 to move in to fifth in the Hokies’ record book. She also tallied 24 block solos and 56 total blocks.

    Duke racked up the major honors this season with sophomore outside hitter Emily Sklar being named the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Player of the Year. Teammate, senior libero Ali McCurdy was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year and the Blue Devils’ Jolene Nagel was named the Coach of the Year. Virginia’s Jasmine Burton was chosen as the Freshman of the Year.

    The awards were decided based on a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

    2013 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards
    Player of the Year: Emily Sklar, Sr., OH, Duke
    Defensive Player of the Year: Ali McCurdy, Sr., L, Duke
    Freshman of the Year: Jasmine Burton, Fr., RS, Virginia
    ​Coach of the Year: Jolene Nagel, Duke

    2013 All-ACC Volleyball First Team
    Emily Sklar So. OH Duke
    Ashley Neff # Sr. MB Florida State
    Jovana Bjelica Sr. OH North Carolina
    Moneshia Simmons Sr. OH Clemson
    Savanah Leaf Jr. OH Miami
    Silvi Uattara So. OH Syracuse
    Victoria Hamsher Sr. MB Virginia Tech
    Emani Sims ! Jr. MB Miami
    Ali McCurdy % Sr. L Duke

    2013 All-ACC Volleyball Second Team
    Nicole Walch So. OH Florida State
    Jeme Obeime Jr. OH Duke
    Paige Neuenfeldt So. MB North Carolina
    Elise Walch So. OH Florida State
    Lauren Fuller So. S Virginia
    Chelsea Cook Sr. MB Duke
    Ashleigh Crutcher ! Jr. OH Maryland
    Alexis Mourning ! Jr. MB Miami
    Katie Mosher Jr. L Florida State

    2013 All-ACC Volleyball Third Team
    Jessica Wynn Jr. RS Pittsburgh
    Jeni Houser Jr. MB Notre Dame
    Kathryn Caine Jr. RS Virginia Tech
    Maggie Deichmeister Jr. S Duke
    Adreene Elliott Jr. MH Maryland
    Tori Janowski Jr. OH Virginia
    Victoria McPherson So. MB North Carolina
    Jasmine Burton Fr. RS Virginia
    Ryan Shaffer ! Sr. DS Miami

    2013 All-ACC Volleyball Freshman Team
    Jasmine Burton Fr. RS Virginia
    Haley Kole Fr. OH Virginia
    Jordan Tucker Fr. MB Duke
    Leah Perri Fr. RS Clemson
    Lindsey Owens Fr. OH Virginia Tech
    Abigail Curry Fr. S North Carolina

    ! – Two-time selection
    # - Three-time selection
    ​% - Four-time selection

    For updates on Virginia Tech volleyball, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_VBall).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    • Women's Golf - All Day
      Simpsonville, KY
      University of Louisville
      Cardinal Cup
    © 2016,