1979 Schedule & Results

Select A Season


George Washington Invitational
Fri, Sep 21 / 7 pm
at George Washington
Washington, D.C.
L, 0-2
13-15, 4-15
Fri, Sep 21 / 7 pm
vs. Yale
Washington, D.C.
L, 0-2
13-15, 6-15
Fri, Sep 21 / 7 pm
vs. New York Tech
Washington, D.C.
W, 2-1
9-15, 15-6, 15-9
Sat, Sep 22 / 7 pm
vs. West Virginia
Washington, D.C.
L, 0-2
1-15, 8-15
Sat, Sep 22 / 7 pm
vs. Colgate
Washington, D.C.
L, 0-2
13-15, 3-15
Sat, Sep 22 / 12 am
Liberty
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 3-2
6-15, 15-8, 15-2, 9-15, 15-9
Wed, Oct 3 / 7 pm
at UNCG
Greensboro, N.C.
L, 0-2
3-15, 4-15
Wed, Oct 3 / 7 pm
vs. NC State
Greensboro, N.C.
L, 0-2
6-15, 2-15
East Tennessee State Invitational
Fri, Oct 5 / 7 pm
vs. Tennessee Tech
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 0-2
5-15, 5-15
Fri, Oct 5 / 7 pm
vs. Appalachian State
Johnson City, Tenn.
T, 1-1
15-12, 5-15
Fri, Oct 5 / 7 pm
vs. Chattanooga
Johnson City, Tenn.
W, 2-0
15-9, 15-9
Fri, Oct 5 / 7 pm
vs. Marshall
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 0-2
6-15, 9-15
Sat, Oct 6 / 7 pm
vs. Western Carolina
Johnson City, Tenn.
W, 2-0
15-12, 15-5
Sat, Oct 6 / 7 pm
vs. Appalachian State
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 0-2
12-15, 11-15
Sat, Oct 6 / 7 pm
vs. Middle Tennessee
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 1-2
9-15, 15-2, 13-15
Tue, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Virginia
War Memorial Gym
W, 3-0
15-13, 15-4, 15-4
Tue, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Radford
War Memorial Gym
W, 2-0
15-13, 15-4
Wed, Oct 10 / 7 pm
at East Tennessee State
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 0-3
12-15, 8-15, 8-15
Morehead State Invitational
Sat, Oct 13 / 7 pm
at Morehead State
Morehead, Ky.
L, 0-2
3-15, 9-15
Sat, Oct 13 / 7 pm
vs. Kentucky State
Morehead, Ky.
W, 2-1
13-15, 15-2, 15-7
Sat, Oct 13 / 7 pm
vs. Dayton
Morehead, Ky.
L, 0-2
3-15, 9-15
Wed, Oct 17 / 7 pm
Appalachian State
War Memorial Gym
L, 1-3
13-15, 13-15, 15-8, 13-15
Tennessee Invitational
Sat, Oct 20 / 7 pm
at Tennessee
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 0-3
4-15, 3-15, 4-15
Sat, Oct 20 / 7 pm
vs. Duke
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 0-3
4-15, 5-15, 11-15
Mon, Oct 22 / 7 pm
at Appalachian State
Boone, N.C.
L, 1-2
15-12, 9-15, 9-15
Mon, Oct 22 / 7 pm
vs. High Point
Boone, N.C.
W, 2-1
15-6, 12-15, 15-8
Tue, Oct 30 / 7 pm
Concord
War Memorial Gym
L, 2-3
14-16, 15-11, 15-6, 4-15, 10-15
Wed, Oct 31 / 7 pm
vs. James Madison
Radford, Va.
L, 0-2
14-16, 9-15
Virginia Tech Invitational
Sat, Nov 3 / 7 pm
Virginia
War Memorial Gym
W, 2-0
15-13, 15-3
Sat, Nov 3 / 7 pm
Guilford
War Memorial Gym
W, 2-1
15-1, 13-15, 15-10
Sat, Nov 3 / 7 pm
George Mason
War Memorial Gym
L, 0-2
12-15, 11-15
Tue, Nov 6 / 7 pm
vs. North Carolina
Winston-Salem, N.C.
L, 0-2
11-15, 3-15
Tue, Nov 6 / 7 pm
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
W, 2-0
15-3, 15-6
VAIAW State Tournament
Sat, Nov 10 / 7 pm
at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
W, 3-0
15-13, 15-6, 15-9
  • Overall: 12-21-1
  • Conference: 0-0
  • Home: 5-3
  • Away: 2-6
  • Neutral: 5-12-1
  • Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll