Fair 54°
Today's Live Events
StubHub Logo StubHub: Buy and sell Virginia Tech Hokie Tickets
1980 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

DateVT RankOpponentResultTVLocation
Tue., Sep 23, 1980Mary WashingtonW, 2-0
15-6, 15-2
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Sep 23, 1980Wake ForestL, 0-2
12-15, 14-16
Cassell Coliseum
Metro Tournament
Fri., Sep 26, 1980vs. TulaneL, 0-2
14-16, 8-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Fri., Sep 26, 1980vs. Florida StateL, 1-2
15-13, 4-15, 2-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Fri., Sep 26, 1980vs. St. LouisL, 1-2
1-15, 15-12, 6-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Sat., Sep 27, 1980vs. CincinnatiL, 0-2
9-15, 5-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Sat., Sep 27, 1980vs. LouisvilleL, 0-2
8-15, 2-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Sat., Sep 27, 1980at MemphisL, 0-2
3-15, 10-15
Memphis, Tenn.
Wed., Oct 1, 1980at VirginiaW, 3-0
15-13, 15-2, 15-13
Charlottesville, Va.
East Tennessee State Invitational
Fri., Oct 3, 1980vs. UNC AshevilleW, 2-0
15-11, 15-11
Johnson City, Tenn.
Fri., Oct 3, 1980vs. Appalachian StateL, 1-2
7-15, 15-11, 14-16
Johnson City, Tenn.
Fri., Oct 3, 1980vs. CharlotteL, 0-2
9-15, 9-15
Johnson City, Tenn.
Fri., Oct 3, 1980vs. Tennessee TechW, 2-1
15-10, 4-15, 15-3
Johnson City, Tenn.
Sat., Oct 4, 1980vs. MilliganW, 2-0
16-14, 15-0
Johnson City, Tenn.
Sat., Oct 4, 1980vs. Appalachian StateW, 2-1
7-15, 15-12, 17-15
Johnson City, Tenn.
Sat., Oct 4, 1980vs. East Tennessee StateW, 2-1
13-15, 15-9, 15-13
Johnson City, Tenn.
Tue., Oct 7, 1980at Appalachian StateW, 2-1
15-2, 14-16, 15-1
Boone, N.C.
Thu., Oct 9, 1980MarshallL, 1-3
9-15, 15-10, 13-15, 14-16
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Oct 14, 1980Appalachian StateW, 2-0
15-13, 15-8
Cassell Coliseum
Thu., Oct 16, 1980at North CarolinaL, 0-3
8-15, 2-15, 4-15
Chapel Hill, N.C.
East Carolina Invitational
Fri., Oct 17, 1980vs. VCUW, 2-0
15-5, 15-11
Greenville, N.C.
Fri., Oct 17, 1980vs. CharlotteL, 1-2
7-15, 15-7, 14-16
Greenville, N.C.
Fri., Oct 17, 1980vs. High PointL, 1-2
6-15, 15-9, 12-15
Greenville, N.C.
Sat., Oct 18, 1980vs. VirginiaW, 2-0
15-7, 15-1
Greenville, N.C.
Sat., Oct 18, 1980at East CarolinaL, 0-2
10-15, 10-15
Greenville, N.C.
Sat., Oct 18, 1980vs. Wake ForestL, 1-2
15-12, 9-15, 5-15
Greenville, N.C.
Mon., Oct 20, 1980LibertyW, 3-0
15-11, 15-5, 15-13
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Oct 21, 1980vs. MarshallW, 2-1
3-15, 15-8, 15-8
Athens, W.Va.
Tue., Oct 21, 1980at ConcordW, 2-0
15-7, 16-14
Athens, W.Va.
Thu., Oct 23, 1980at VCUW, 2-0
15-13, 15-10
Richmond, Va.
Thu., Oct 23, 1980vs. NC StateL, 0-2
11-15, 10-15
Richmond, Va.
Fri., Oct 24, 1980UNCGW, 2-1
14-16, 15-8, 15-6
Cassell Coliseum
Fri., Oct 24, 1980Christopher NewportW, 2-0
15-3, 15-6
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Oct 25, 1980at RadfordL, 1-3
15-12, 2-15, 11-15, 12-15
Radford, Va.
Tue., Oct 28, 1980ConcordW, 3-0
15-5, 15-8, 15-11
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Nov 1, 1980at George MasonL, 2-3
8-15, 15-12, 8-15, 15-0, 12-15
Fairfax, Va.
Tue., Nov 4, 1980at Wake ForestW, 2-0
15-11, 15-6
Winston-Salem, N.C.
Tue., Nov 4, 1980vs. GuilfordW, 2-0
15-11, 15-5
Winston-Salem, N.C.
Mon., Nov 10, 1980at LibertyW, 3-1
10-15, 15-11, 15-10, 15-11
Lynchburg, Va.
Wed., Nov 12, 1980VirginiaW, 3-0
15-7, 15-5, 15-1
Cassell Coliseum
Regionals
Fri., Nov 21, 1980vs. ClemsonL, 1-2
15-7, 6-15, 7-15
Lexington, Ky.
Fri., Nov 21, 1980at KentuckyL, 0-2
12-15, 6-15
Lexington, Ky.
Sat., Nov 22, 1980vs. TennesseeL, 0-2
6-15, 6-15
Lexington, Ky.
Sat., Nov 22, 1980vs. Northern KentuckyL, 0-2
12-15, 5-15
Lexington, Ky.
Overall: 22-22   Conference: 0-0
Home: 7-2   Away: 6-6   Neutral: 9-14
Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll
© 2014, hokiesports.com