StubHub Logo StubHub: Buy and sell Virginia Tech Hokie Tickets
    1981 Schedule & Results

    Select A Season

    DateVT RankOpponentResultTVLocation
    Tue., Sep 22, 1981at ConcordW, 3-0
    15-6, 16-14, 15-7
    Athens, W.Va.
    Thu., Sep 24, 1981VCUW, 2-0
    15-9, 15-9
    Cassell Coliseum
    George Mason Tournament
    Sat., Sep 26, 1981at George MasonW, 2-0
    15-5, 15-8
    Fairfax, Va.
    Sat., Sep 26, 1981vs. William & MaryL, 0-2
    15-17, 9-15
    Fairfax, Va.
    Sat., Sep 26, 1981vs. Mary WashingtonW, 2-1
    15-9, 7-15, 15-6
    Fairfax, Va.
    Sun., Sep 27, 1981vs. James MadisonW, 2-0
    15-9, 15-11
    Fairfax, Va.
    Sun., Sep 27, 1981vs. NavyW, 2-1
    12-15, 15-4, 15-5
    Fairfax, Va.
    Sun., Sep 27, 1981vs. CatonsvilleW, 2-0
    15-9, 15-7
    Fairfax, Va.
    Tue., Sep 29, 1981East Tennessee StateL, 1-3
    14-16, 6-15, 15-10, 5-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    South Carolina Tournament
    Fri., Oct 2, 1981vs. TennesseeL, 0-2
    3-15, 2-15
    Columbia, S.C.
    Fri., Oct 2, 1981vs. NC StateL, 0-2
    6-15, 4-15
    Columbia, S.C.
    Fri., Oct 2, 1981at South CarolinaL, 0-2
    15-17, 12-15
    Columbia, S.C.
    Sat., Oct 3, 1981vs. College of CharlestonW, 2-0
    15-8, 15-9
    Columbia, S.C.
    Sat., Oct 3, 1981vs. Morehead StateL, 0-2
    10-15, 1-15
    Columbia, S.C.
    Tue., Oct 6, 1981Wake ForestW, 2-0
    15-12, 15-9
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 6, 1981LibertyW, 2-0
    15-4, 15-1
    Cassell Coliseum
    Wed., Oct 7, 1981VirginiaW, 3-2
    13-15, 15-12, 13-15, 15-0, 15-11
    Cassell Coliseum
    East Tennessee State Tournament
    Fri., Oct 9, 1981vs. MarshallW, 3-0
    15-9, 15-5, 15-10
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Fri., Oct 9, 1981at East Tennessee StateL, 0-2
    5-15, 4-15
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Fri., Oct 9, 1981vs. GuilfordW, 2-1
    10-15, 15-2, 15-8
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Sat., Oct 10, 1981vs. Appalachian StateL, 0-2
    2-15, 8-15
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Sat., Oct 10, 1981vs. UNC AshevilleW, 2-1
    13-15, 15-12, 15-6
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Sat., Oct 10, 1981vs. GuilfordW, 3-2
    15-10, 15-10, 13-15, 9-15, 15-11
    Johnson City, Tenn.
    Tue., Oct 13, 1981Old DominionW, 2-0
    15-3, 15-11
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 13, 1981Appalachian StateL, 0-2
    6-15, 9-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    Thu., Oct 15, 1981at UNCGW, 2-1
    6-15, 15-3, 15-8
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Thu., Oct 15, 1981at GuilfordW, 2-0
    15-13, 16-14
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Fri., Oct 16, 1981George MasonW, 3-0
    16-14, 15-13, 15-3
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 20, 1981RadfordW, 3-0
    15-13, 15-9, 15-2
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 27, 1981LongwoodW, 2-0
    15-6, 15-9
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 27, 1981ConcordW, 2-0
    15-7, 15-6
    Cassell Coliseum
    Wed., Oct 28, 1981at Lenoir-RhyneW, 2-1
    13-15, 15-10, 15-9
    Hickory, N.C.
    Wed., Oct 28, 1981at Appalachian StateL, 0-2
    7-15, 13-15
    Boone, N.C.
    Marshall Tournament
    Fri., Oct 30, 1981vs. ToledoW, 2-0
    15-5, 16-14
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Fri., Oct 30, 1981vs. Rio GrandeW, 2-0
    15-5, 15-10
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Fri., Oct 30, 1981vs. Kentucky StateW, 2-1
    14-16, 15-4, 15-7
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Sat., Oct 31, 1981vs. VCUL, 1-2
    7-15, 15-7, 11-15
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Sat., Oct 31, 1981at MarshallW, 2-0
    15-6, 18-16
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Sat., Oct 31, 1981vs. Kentucky StateW, 2-0
    15-11, 15-1
    Huntington, W.Va.
    Tue., Nov 3, 1981vs. UNC AshevilleW, 2-0
    15-9, 15-6
    Winston-Salem, N.C.
    Tue., Nov 3, 1981at Wake ForestW, 2-1
    18-16, 4-15, 15-9
    Winston-Salem, N.C.
    Sat., Nov 7, 1981William & MaryW, 2-0
    15-6, 15-10
    Cassell Coliseum
    Mon., Nov 9, 1981at LibertyW, 3-0
    15-5, 15-7, 15-12
    Lynchburg, Va.
    State Tournament
    Fri., Nov 13, 1981vs. Old DominionW, 2-0
    15-7, 15-8
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Metro Conference Tournament
    Thu., Nov 19, 1981vs. LouisvilleL, 0-2
    11-15, 5-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Thu., Nov 19, 1981vs. MemphisL, 1-2
    3-15, 15-7, 10-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Fri., Nov 20, 1981vs. St. LouisL, 0-2
    9-15, 10-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Fri., Nov 20, 1981vs. TulaneL, 1-2
    5-15, 15-13, 7-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Sat., Nov 21, 1981at CincinnatiL, 1-2
    15-13, 1-15, 10-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Overall: 33-16   Conference: 0-0
    Home: 10-2   Away: 8-4   Neutral: 15-10
    Head Coach: John Pierce

    Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
    Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
    All Times Eastern
    All Rankings from the AP Poll
    Today's Live Events
    • Women's Soccer - 7 PM
      Syracuse, N.Y.
      (14) Virginia Tech
      Syracuse

      vs.
    • Football - 8 PM
      Lane Stadium
      Miami
      Virginia Tech

      vs.
      Live Stats | Listen on HokiesXtra | Watch on ESPN
    © 2014, hokiesports.com